Home » Phase II – Manipur stands tall in upholding the Indian Democracy

Phase II – Manipur stands tall in upholding the Indian Democracy

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 5 minutes read

CEO, Manipur
Imphal, March 6:

Polling for Second Phase of Manipur Assembly Elections ended peacefully today with76.62%of the total 8,38,730 voters in the state turned out to exercise their franchiseas per report available from different constituencies upto 5 p.m. on 5thMarch, 2022.
Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Manipur Shri RajeshAgrawal stated that of the total 22 constituencies that went to poll today48-Mao AC remained atthe top with highest polling percentage of 86.78%, followed by 38-Hiyanglam AC (86.31%), while 52-Tamei ACwitnessed lowest voting percentage (61.23%) reported till 5 PM. The final voting percentage will be notified after arrival of all polling parties.
Rajesh Agrawal continued that a total of 22 Assembly Constituencies including 10 in Thoubal, 3 each in Ukhrul, Senapati and Tamenglong, 2 in Chandel and 1 in Jiribam went for poll today. A total of 8,38,730 voters including 4,10,020 male, 4,28,679 female and 31 transgender voters are in Phase-II. There are a total of 4849 PwD electors and 480 Centenarian voters.
Out of a total of 1247 polling stations, 223 polling stations were completely manned by all women polling personnel. In 31-Thoubal Assembly Constituency, all the 40 polling stations were entirely manned by all women polling teams. There were 39 model polling stations spread across different Assembly Constituencies of six Electoral Districtsin which Selfie booth and Photo Booth were also set up at 17 polling stations.
People turned out in large number and exercise their franchise to choose their representatives. The centenarian voters and PwD voters were not exception as majority of them came out andcasted their votes knowing the importance of each single vote. The volunteers at the booth assisted them with wheelchairs etc for smooth voting experience.
Many elderlies, PwD and first-time voters were also felicitated by the polling teams at the booth. The active participation of electors in this election has truly made these elections a festival of democracy.
To ensure COVID safe election, adequate arrangements have been made in all polling stations. All polling stations were sanitised one day before poll. ASHA and Anganwadi workers were utilised at each polling station to perform thermal screening and queue management. Marking of circles with minimum distance was also done to avoid crowding.
Besides, mask, glove, were provided to voters requiring the same. The movement of EVMs was tracked with the help of e-Traccar App which wasembedded in the mobile phones of Polling personnel and Sector Officers. Besides, eAtlas app was used by polling teams which enables a polling personnel to report anysort of EVM malfunctioning or any untoward incident happening in the polling station.This enabled the Returning Officer to take immediate corrective actions. Arrangements for webcasting/videography were successfully made in majority of the Polling Stations. The votingat majority of the polling stations was monitored through the webcasting at the controlrooms in ROs, DEOs and CEO office. The CAPF were deployed at the polling stations toensure security of voters. In addition, micro-observers were also deployed in criticalpolling stations to monitor the overall poll process.
He mentioned polling parties have started returning from their respective polling stations. EVMs are being deposited to the Strong Rooms, where three tier security systems are also being arranged for guarding the same. Security forces have been keeping strict vigil round the clock at Strong Rooms. The scrutiny of Form 17 A and other documents will be conducted by the Returning Officers in presence of General Observers on 6th March, 2022. Decisions on re-polls, if any, shall be decided accordingly, he added.
In addition, a total of 22 observers were deputed by the Election Commission of India forsecond phase of polls and they were mobile throughout the daywitnessing polling at different polling stations. Besides, three Special Observers were also deputed by the Election Commission to monitor and supervise the poll process. They were very satisfied with thearrangements at the polling stations and the participation of voters in a big way.
The polling in entire valley area was peaceful. In hill districts, there were twelveincidents of damage to EVMs by miscreants reported at 42/4, 42/13, 42/16, 42/18, 42/42 and 42/43 under 42-Tengnoupal AC, 44/64 and 44/70 in 44-Ukhrul AC, 45/26 and 45/31 under 45-Chingai AC, 49/51 under 49-Tadubi AC and 47/49 under 47-Karong AC.
FIRs have been registered. The incident under Karong AC unfortunately got escalated leading to serious injury to two persons, who were immediately evacuated by chopper to Imphal for treatment. However, one of them sadly succumbed on the way. The other person is under treatment at RIMS Hospital, Imphal. CEO, Manipur expresses condolence over the demise of the deceased. There were few complaints from certain political parties & candidates during the poll.
However, majority of the issues were resolved, and prompt actions taken. Repoll for 12 polling stations of Phase I Assembly Constituencies also ended peacefully with a turnout of 77.62%.It may be noted that one polling station each in 1- Khundrakpam and 51-Saitu, three in 56-Thanlon, five in 57-Henglep and two in 60-Singhat Assembly Constituencies went for repoll today.
Rajesh Agrawal thanked people of Manipur for coming out in large numbers to exercise their democratic right in a peaceful manner, giving a real meaning to the Festival of Democracy. He also thankedall the Polling Personnel, Security Personnel, Booth Level Officers (BLO), PWDcoordinators, ASHA Workers, Aanganwadi workers for working tirelessly day and night toensure free, fair, peaceful, participative, accessible and inclusive polls in the State.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.