Home » Govindas resigns from State Assembly and primary membership of MPCC; “His resignation will not affect the Congress Party”- N.Loken

Govindas resigns from State Assembly and primary membership of MPCC; “His resignation will not affect the Congress Party”- N.Loken

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, July 28:

Ex –Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee President and sitting MLA of Bishnupur , Govindas Konthoujam today submitted his resignation letter to the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly. He also tender his resignation from the Primary membership of MPCC whereas a source said N Loken who is the interim president of MPCC is yet to accept his resignation. Earlier, Govindas resigned from the post of MPCC President.

Interim President of MPCC N Loken speaking to media person he stated that, Govindas Konthoujam submitted the resignation letter through a messenger at around 1:00pm. While acknowledging his resignation from Primary membership, N Loken said that Govindas’s resignation will not affect the MPCC. Govindas submitted his resignation letter to the State assembly at around 11:00am.

N Loken said, Govindas phone was unreachable as his phone was switched off and CLP leader O Ibobi Singh, CWC member Gaikhangam, and AICC in-charge for Manipur Bhakta Charan das failed to contact him. Loken cited personal issues for his latest move and said there is no such thing as 8 MLAs leaving the Congress party as speculated by many. The interim President didn’t comment about the pending disqualification case of 12 MLAs citing it will be subjudice as the matter is with the Supreme court. He said, the present BJP government is a shaky one and not stable, and the resignation of one MLA from the Congress party will not deter the party from moving forward.

A bulletin was issued by Secretary M Ramani Devi in this regard. The bulletin reads as “Shri Konthoujam Govindas, elected from 26-Bishnupur Assembly Constituency has resigned his membership from the Manipur Legislative Assembly. Consequent upon his resignation,26-Bishnupur assembly constituency is now lying vacant with effect from Wednesday, the 28th July 2021.”

The Congress party emerged as the single largest party in 2017 Assembly election with a total of 28 seats. However, the BJP winning just 21 seats formed the government with support from NPP, NPF, TMC, LJP, a lone independent and a defected MLA from Congress party. With the resignation of Govindas Konthoujam from state assembly, the total legislature of Congress party is again decreased to 16.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.