Home » All is set for Second Phase of Lok Sabha Election in 13 ACs of Manipur

All is set for Second Phase of Lok Sabha Election in 13 ACs of Manipur

by Jeet Akoijam
0 comment 4 minutes read
All is set for Second Phase of Lok Sabha Election in 13 ACs of Manipur

IT News
Imphal, April 25:

Under the guidance of the Election Commission of India, the Chief Electoral Officer of Manipur is gearing up to conduct the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections in the remaining 13 assembly constituencies of the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency. The first phase of elections for the outer Parliamentary seat covering 15 Assembly constituencies took place on April 19.
In the upcoming phase, four candidates, namely Alfred K Arthur of INC, Kachui Timothy Zimik of NPF, and independent candidates S Kho John and Alyson Abonmai, are contesting.
Preparations were in full swing as polling officials for the Jiribam district were dispatched today from the DC Complex, Chingdong Leikai, under tight security measures. The dispersal of polling parties for the 41 polling stations in the 40-Jiribam Assembly Segment of the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency commenced after the mandatory procedures were followed. The opening of heavily guarded strong rooms at the DC Office marked the beginning of the dispersal, ensuring the proper dispersal of EVMs and VVPATs under the supervision of various officials and representatives of contesting candidates/political parties.
Of the 41 polling stations, 5 are model polling stations, and 8 are designated as women polling stations, including a Special polling station catering to the “scheme for IDPs of Manipur to vote in relief camps” situated in the Bidyanagar Multipurpose Sports Complex. The constituency boasts a total of 30,809 voters, comprising 15,660 males, 15,148 females, and 1 transgender individual. Notably, polling stations number 40/16 and 40/17 situated at Babukhal and Boroikhal are accessible only by waterways.
DEO Jiribam Krishna Kumar, IAS, while flagging off the polling parties, emphasized vigilance, coordination, and wished for peaceful and successful elections. The segment holds 15 critical and 13 vulnerable polling stations, requiring the deployment of 5 companies of CAPF, along with armed and civil police of Manipur Police. A total of 200 personnel, including reserve personnel from various departments, are engaged as polling staff on the day of the polls.
Polling officials, accompanied by police teams, were also dispatched for the 52-Tamei (ST) AC and 53-Tamenglong (ST) AC from the Tamenglong district Multi-Purpose Hall, DC complex, Mini Secretariat Tamenglong district. A total of 332 polling officials for 83 polling stations across the two Assembly segments were dispersed on the final day, including 36 female-managed polling stations. Women polling personnel expressed enthusiasm for conducting the elections, crediting the District administration and election officials for their training in handling EVMs and VVPATs.
In Senapati district, polling officials, along with security personnel, were dispatched at Sanyi Dahrii Sporting Complex, Khabung Karong, Senapati, for the Karong (ST) AC, Mao (ST) AC, and Tadubi (ST) AC constituencies. The district has set up 228 polling stations, with 81 manned by female polling officials. Model polling stations have been established in each AC. The dispersal was monitored by District Election Officer, Senapati, Mamoni Doley, IAS, Senapati SP Anupam, IPS, and Assistant Returning Officers, ensuring the safe arrival of polling and security personnel at their designated stations. For smooth conduct, 28 Sector Officers and 66 Micro observers have been deployed across the three assembly segments.
Similarly, in Noney District, preparations for tomorrow’s 18th Lok Sabha election were finalized with the dispersal of polling stations officials and personnel, along with police security. Out of 52 polling stations in the Nungba AC, 47 will be managed by male polling officers and 5 by female officers. The dispersal of personnel for different types of polling stations was completed progressively, ensuring readiness for the election day.
The second phase of Lok Sabha Election preparations also saw the dispersal of polling personnel at Maha Union Government Higher Secondary School in Chandel District, overseen by various officials.
As part of the last batch todisperse for election duty tomorrow, the DEO of Ukhrul has dispersed 87 Polling teams from the two Assembly Constituencies today. In today’s dispersal of the Polling teams, 34 teams are for 45 – Chingai (ST) AC and the remaining 53 are for 44 Ukhrul (ST) AC. There were 44 Men teams, 43 Women teams and 1 Special Polling station team.
Ukhrul District has two assembly segments i.e, 44 Ukhrul (ST) AC & 45 Ukhrul (ST) AC. There are a total of 93869 Voters out of which 44 – Ukhrul (ST) AC has 46199 (M – 22549 + F – 23650) and 45 – Chingai (ST) AC has 47670 (M – 22960 + F- 24710).
44- Ukhrul (ST) AC has a total of 71 polling stations and 4 special polling stations for the displaced persons. There will be 34 men polling stations and 37 will be reserved for women polling personnel. This assembly segment will have 1 model polling station.
45 – Chingai (ST) AC has 70 polling stations in which 8 stations will be for women polling personnel and the rest 62 will be engaged to men polling personnel. It will have 1 model polling station for this segment. Facilities for the PWD identified polling stations are well arranged in both the segments.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.