Home » We will know who wins on June 4: Th. Basanta

We will know who wins on June 4: Th. Basanta

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 1 minutes read
We will know who wins on June 4: Th. Basanta

IT News
Imphal, April 22:

BJP candidate in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency today visited polling stations, where re-poll took place following complaints and violation of MCC on the April 19 Phase 1 election.
Talking to media persons while inspecting the re-polling at the 5/31-Khongman Zone-V (A) polling station, Th. Basanta, the BJP candidate for the 18th Lok Shabe Election from the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency said that re-polling is a normal democratic process and no other re-poll would be held thereafter. Answering to a question whether he would win the election, he said every candidate aspires to win the election but the real winner would come on 4 June once the election result is out. He added the security arrangement was quite satisfied today comparing to those of April 19 when 1319 polling stations went to vote. He urged the common people not to victimize the state government regarding the lapses in the security arrangement as it came under the direct control of the Election Commission of India.
The state, which comprises of Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur constituencies, recorded a voter turnout of 72 per cent. The Congress party demanded re-poll at 47 polling stations, alleging election rigging and booth capturing. Manipur Congress president K. Meghachandra confirmed that a complaint had been lodged with the Chief Electoral Officer, seeking re-poll at 36 stations in Inner Manipur and 11 in Outer Manipur.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.