Home » Voters turn out rate reaches 80% in first phase Manipur poll

Voters turn out rate reaches 80% in first phase Manipur poll

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, March. 4: First phase Polling of the 11th Manipur Manipur Legislative Assembly elections ended peacefully at three this afternoon. Heavy to very heavy polling was reported in today’s poll which started at seven in the morning. According to preliminary reports, over 80 per cent of the total votes of the 38 Assembly Constituencies of the state assembly has been cast today.
The election was held at 38 constituencies in six district of the state  viz- Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur, Kangpokpi, Churachandpur and Pherzawl .
At around 1 pm voters turn out rate is recorded to be nearly 70 percent.
Except for some minor technical problem in EVM which delayed voting at some polling station and some confrontation between workers of rival candidates, the polling held today is almost peaceful.
There were confrontations taking place between rival candidates at Porompat TV Tower area over charges of proxy voting.
According to PTI,  Manipur Chief Electoral Officer Vivek Kumar Dewangan said 69 per cent of the voters exercised their franchise in the first five hours of voting.
State Nodal Officer (Elections) W Chandrakumar Singh told, “given the circumstances in the state and the nature of voting, turnout is likely to increase after 2 pm.”
No report of violence has been reported from anywhere in the state.
The rise in voter turnout reflected a sense of responsibility among the voters, Singh said.
Rights activists Irom Sharmila cast her vote at a polling booth of Khurai assembly constituency.
The first phase of polling take place in 38 constituencies in 1,643 polling stations. Of the these 529 polling station are declared sensitive. A total of 168 candidates are contesting in this phase. As per ECO Manipur total number of women candidate is 7. Among the seven lady candidate are Nemcha Kipgen of BJP in Kangpokpi Assembly Constituency, Ak Mirabai of INC in Patsoi Assembly Constituency, Yumnam Romola of MNDF of Keishamthong Assembly Constituency, G Seityabati of NPP in Sagolband Assembly Constituency, Lotongbam Tilotama of Inc in Langthabal Assembly Constituency and Thokchom Bindashakhi Devi of AITC in Bishnupur Assembly constituency.  
In the run-up to the polls, the political parties focused primarily on the continuing economic blockade and also the territorial integrity of the state in their campaigns. Interestingly Congress Party which has been in power had promise to lift controversial Armed Forces Special Power Act from the entire state saying that it had already lifted the act from 7 assembly segment of greater Imphal area.
Meanwhile, BJP which also assured protection of the territorial integrity of the state had assured to book all those involved in the fake encounter killing in the state. The party also assured for a corrupt free state.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.