Home » Team Rutsa-Meyase win JK Tyre Hornbill Off-Roading event in Nagaland

Team Rutsa-Meyase win JK Tyre Hornbill Off-Roading event in Nagaland

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

The off-road winners
Overall champions: Aviu Rutsa/ Neiketoulie Meyase; Rudkuobetvo/Pete
1strunners-up: Yanger Lushang/ Maken Lepden; Bento Swu/ Bovito Kiho
2ndrunners-up: Ikweithing (Justin)/ Kenrak Thou; Irietui/Elu
Best spotter: Abemo Yanthan
Best off-road rig: Aviu Rutsa

By a correspondent
Kohima, Dec 5:

The formidable team of Aviu Rutsa and co-driver Neiketoulie Meyase and Rudkuobetvo/Pete cracked the testing mountainous terrain of Kohima to emerge victors in the JK Tyre Hornbill Off-Roading Cup here on Tuesday.
Yanger Lushang/ Maken Lepden and Bento Swu/ Bovito Kiho claimed the first runners-up position while Ikweithing (Justin)/ Kenrak Thou and Irietui/Elu took the second runners-up in the 1.5 km course that comprised six gruelling challenges and obstacles.
Each team comprises of two cars, manned by a driver and a co-driver, to help each other tackle the various obstacles together.
 Abemo Yanthan was adjudged Best Spotter while Aviu Rutsa added another feather to his cap by winning the best off-road rig as well.
It is the first time that the off-road event has been added to the annual JK Tyre Hornbill Motor Rally which is in its ninth year of existence.
The rally coincides with the famous Hornbill Festival of Nagaland, a seven-day extravaganza of cultural performances, ethnic food courts, handlooms and handicrafts bazaars, film and art festivals, fashion shows and a national rock contest.
Earlier on Monday, defending champion Gagan Sethi and co-driver Sabatullah Khan stole the show in the picturesque hills by winning the TSD rally spread over 55 kilometres.
The rally concludes with the World War 2 Peace Rally, that pays homage to the martyrs of the Battle of Kohima.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.