Home » National Press Day Observes: Working Journalist to get CMHT card; CM welcomes criticisms but says can’t tolerate humiliation

National Press Day Observes: Working Journalist to get CMHT card; CM welcomes criticisms but says can’t tolerate humiliation

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 3 minutes read

IT News

Imphal, Nov. 16,

Commemorating the commissioning of the Press Council of India, Directorate of Information and Public Relation Department , government of Manipur today joined the nation in celebrating the National press Day.

A state function was organised at 1st Manipur Rifle Banquet Hall with Chief Minister N. Biren Singh as the Chief Guest. IPR Minister Th. Biswajit , who was supposed to preside over the function could not make it as he had left Imphal on some emergency purposes. Karam Shyam, Minister CAF and PD presided over the function while Director of the IPR H. Balkrishna attended as Guest of honour.

On the occasion eight journalists including Editor of Poknapham daily A. Robindro Sharma were conferred state journalist awards at different field. Cash prize, memento and a shawl were conferred in recognition to their exceptional reporting and editorial writing on national Integration. Other Journalist who were conferred the best journalists award on different fields are – Meghajit of Naharolgi Thoudang, Gyanendra of Huiyen Lanpao, Rameshwar of Huiyen Lanpao, Bijoy of Huiyen Lanpao, Ratneshwari of Huiyen Lanpao, Babycha of Huiyen Lanpao and Bigyan of Peoples’ Chronicle.

Speaking on the occasion Chief Minister N. Biren Singh appealed the journalist fraternity to feel free in criticizing to the work programme of policy of the government. He however said that his government will not tolerate humiliation that may sabotage the career of an individual.

“Our government has no problem in criticism, we will give reply if needed and we will not tolerate humiliation”, N. Biren Singh a one time journalist before joining the politics said.

One good news he announced in connection with the celebration of the National Press Day is that working journalist will now be able to get the cards of the Chief Minister gi Hakshel Tengbang (CMHT). Saying so the chief Minister said that those already covered under the Prime Ministers’ assistance will not be included.

“Having experience the life of reporters I feel that they should be given some privilege”, N. Biren Singh said while recalling his days as a journalist.

“I have to beg 20 rupees from my wife for filling petrol to my vehicle to go to office”, the one time editor of Naharolgi Thoudang said.

As per record of the DIPR , there are 243 journalist in the state and all the journalist will get CMHT card. The Chief Minister said that the decision will be taken in the next cabinet meeting.

Karam Shyam , the Minister for CAF and PD while speaking as the president of the function ironically mock the journalist saying that “politician, police, doctors, and others can be criticized but not the journalist, because they are very emotional”.

He further expressed dissatisfaction to the number of journalist present today as it did not reach his expectation. He appealed the Director of the IPR to look on what went wrong.

The CAF and PD Minister further said that he being a politician was very interested in reading news report particularly the one related to him.

“I read news report about my speech and assess it everyday”, Shaym said and added that after reading the report I could find out if message I want to deliver to the mass has been rightly reported or not.

Later after the function a workshop on the topic “ Journalism Ethics and Challenges in Digital era “ was held with Yumnam Rupachandra , News Editor of IMPACT TV also General Secretary of Editors’ Guild Manipur and Brozendro Ningomba , Editor of ISTV also President of All Manipur Working Journalist Union as the resource persons. Editor of Imphal Free Press Pradip Phanjaobam moderated the session. 

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.