Home » National Blindness survey in Manipur

National Blindness survey in Manipur

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 1 minutes read

Imphal, May 21: As a part of the National Blindness Survey under the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India which is being conducted by Dr Rajendra Prasad Centre for ophthalmic Sciences, All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi where the survey will be conducting in 30 different districts which will be selected randomly from across the country in four years period between 2015-2018.
According to a press statement, Dr Y Chingsuingamba Meitei, Co-Investigator of National Blindness Survey and Associate Professor of Ophthalmology of Regional Institute of Medical Sciences, Imphal states that the Government of India conducts National wide blind Blindness Survey approximately for every 10 years and for the first time, Manipur state is included in the The National Blindness Survey.
Among the 19 survey completed districts of the country, Thoubal District of Manipur is going to be the 20th district for the survey to be conducted.
The survey is being done in Manipur in partnership with RIMS, Imphal and Directorate of Health Services, Government of Manipur, he states.
Chingsuingamba also states that a team of 18 members lead by Dr Suraj Singh Senjam, Associate Professor, Department of Community Ophthalmology and Dr Noopur Gupta, Assistant Professor, Dr Rajendra Prasad Centre for Ophthalmic Sciences, AIIMS, New Delhi along with Dr laishram Usharani, Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology, RIMS, Imphal will be conducting the Blindness survey in Thoubal District of Manipur.
The survey is being conducted from 18 May and will continue till 28 May of 2017 which will cover 50 different clusters or villages from Thoubal District and from each village 60 individuals of aged 50 years and above will be screened and examined for eye problems.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.