Home » Lok Sabha Election: Ten candidates confirmed for Manipur seats, No withdrawals recorded

Lok Sabha Election: Ten candidates confirmed for Manipur seats, No withdrawals recorded

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read
Lok Sabha Election: Ten candidates confirmed for Manipur seats, No withdrawals recorded

IT News
Imphal, Mar 30:

As the deadline for withdrawal of nominations for the 18th Lok Sabha Election passed, it was confirmed that none of the candidates who had filed nominations for both Parliamentary Constituencies of Manipur had withdrawn their candidature.
For the Inner Parliamentary constituency, the contenders include Maheshwar Thounaojam from the Republican Party of India Athawale (RPI-A), Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh representing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Dr. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam of the Indian National Congress (INC), Independent candidate Raj Kumar Somerendro (Kaiku), Moirangthem Totomshana Nongshaba from the Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party (RJSP), and Ngasepam Nilakanta Singh from the Universal Family Party.
In the Outer Parliamentary constituency, the candidates in the fray are Alfred Kanngam S. Arthur from the INC, Kachui Timothy Zimik representing the Naga Peoples’ Front, Independent Candidates S Kho John and Alyson Abonmai.
Voting for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency is scheduled for April 19, along with certain assembly constituencies of the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency. The remaining assembly constituencies for the outer Manipur parliamentary seat will go to polls in the second phase on April 26.
A total of 20,26,623 voters, including 10,47,929 women, are expected to cast their votes to elect two members of parliament for both the Outer and Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituencies.
Given the ongoing crisis in Manipur, with many displaced individuals seeking refuge in relief camps, special polling stations will be set up for Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) across ten districts of Manipur. The CEO Manipur has approved the establishment of these special polling stations. Presently, the Manipur government is operating around 320 relief camps, accommodating over 59,000 individuals, including men, women, and children.
Ethnic violence between the Meitei and Kuki-Zomi communities, which erupted on May 3 last year, has resulted in at least 220 casualties, 1,500 injuries, and the displacement of 60,000 people.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.