Home » “Let Dhanamanjuri University Be A University, Not A Government Department : FEGOCTA”

“Let Dhanamanjuri University Be A University, Not A Government Department : FEGOCTA”

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 4 minutes read

Federation of Government College Teachers’ Association, Manipur (FEGOCTA), the apex body of the government college teachers, in a press statement appealed to follow RUSA guidelines in setting up Dhanamanjuri University.
A University is a concept, a movement and an intellectual and academic world of excellence in higher education and research. The advantages of College Cluster Universities with their own Academic and Executive bodies are the enormous freedom and autonomy to develop their own programme and ideas by sharing physical infrastructure and faculty expertise. 35 new Cluster Universities would be created during the current 12th Plan period with an allocation of Rs. 55 Crore per university under central scheme of RUSA, 2013. The Cluster University will be created by converting the existing affiliated government and government-aided colleges into a Cluster within a radius of 15-20kms with total land area of at least 25 acres. All the participating colleges should be NAAC accredited and should be the Constituent Colleges of the newly created University. The future commitments/central funding must meet the pre-requisites in terms rigid procedures under RUSA. The violation of RUSA guidelines and norms and procedures of a cluster University will cause disturbance in future funding from HRD Ministry and other central funding agencies.
Dhanamanjuri Bill, 2014 has made all the colleges under Manipur University under Dhanamanjuri University. The Bill has clear violation of the above mentioned RUSA guidelines and Cluster University norms and procedures. The design of Dhanamanjuri University looks like a government department with secrecy even at the conceptualization stage with ample room for political and bureaucratic control. Manipur government has record of showing no concern other than construction and recruitment in the higher education and now the first state trying to set up a new University under RUSA. Despite repeated requests by FEGOCTA, government fails to implement other central scheme of UGC Regulations 2010 as done in 28 states as it has no component of construction and recruitments. So whether construction, other infrastructural development, new recruitment and Rs. 55 crores form HRD Ministry are only the motivating factors for crating Dhanamanjuri University? FEGOCTA in its Executive Committee Meeting held on 12th February, 2015 at D.M. College of Commerce resolves to oppose Dhanamanjuri University by taking up the matter with Governor, HRD Ministry etc. if the violations of RUSA guidelines continue and the defective design of Dhanamanjuri University are not corrected.
FEGOCTA demands that the lead colleges of D.M. College of Science, D.M. College of Arts, D.M. College of Commerce, D.M. College of Teachers Education, Hindi Teachers Training Institute, G.P. Women’s College and LMS Law college should be clearly mentioned as the constituent colleges and their under-graduate courses should continue under Dhanamanjuri University, FEGOCTA also demands that NAAC accredited Manipur College, Imphal College and Modern College which are within 15-20 kms should be included as the Constituent Colleges of Dhanamanjuri University for future growth and expansion. There should be service protection such as pay, pension and length of service of the government college teachers if they are selected as faculty members of Dhanamanjuri University for smooth transition.
The posts of Pro-Chancellor should be deleted and appointment of first Vice-Chancellor must be based on the recommendations of a Search Committee and term of the Registrar and Finance Officer should be fixed. Executive Council should be reduced to 30 only with a minimum number of politicians and bureaucrats and no nomination of ten members by paying Rs. Ten Lakh each. No bureaucrat in the selection Committee for the teaching posts. President and General Secretary of Dhanamanjury University Teacher’s Association, eminent personalities and at least five women members should be included in the Executive Council and Academic Council. There should be clear definition of the relations and powers of the state government with the Dhanamanjuri University. All these will ensure academic freedom and autonomy. There should be Transitional Provisions and Students Advisory Council.
The Faculties/Schools, Departments and Centres which are not in Manipur University, IGNTU-RC, Manipur etc should be included such as School of Law, Department of Home Science, Psychology, Public Administrations, Sociology, Social Work, Management; Centres for Advanced Study of the North East India, Advanced Study of South East Asia, Centre for Policy Studies, Centre for Ethics and Cultural Studies, Centre for Alternative Medicine, Centre for Environment and Women Studies, Centre for Mass Communication, Job oriented professional/short term courses etc.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.