Home » Kuki MLAs demands creation of posts for Chief Secretary and DGP for five districts; demands Rs. 500 crores as compensation

Kuki MLAs demands creation of posts for Chief Secretary and DGP for five districts; demands Rs. 500 crores as compensation

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, Aug 17:

After demography separation of Kuki-dominated areas in Manipur, the 10 Kuki MLAs of the Manipur Legislative Assembly have demanded for creation of the post of Chief Secretary and Director General of Police or its equivalent posts for five Hill Districts of Manipur. A memorandum in this regard was submitted to the Prime Minister of Manipur on August 16.
The said five districts are Churachandpur, Kangpokpi, Chandel, Tengnoupal, and Pherzawl District. In the memorandum submitted to the Prime Minister of India, the 10 Kuki MLAs also demanded to open the office of the newly created post at Lamka in Churachandpur district. The Kuki MLAs also demanded a sum of Rs. 500 crores from the Prime Minister’s Relief Fund for proper rehabilitation of the Zomi-Kuki people, who have been devastated by the riots.
The demand by the Kuki MLAs is a step forward for the creation of a Kuki state or Union Territory. Mentioned may be made in December, 2012, a body called Kuki State Demand Committee (KSDC) had threatened to impose bandh on National High Ways indefinitely days before the ASEAN Car Rally which was supposed to pass through Manipur. The KSDC however called off the blockade after the then Ministry of Home Affairs assured to hold dialogue with the Kuki National Organization to work out modalities for the formation of Kuki state. Interestingly, after 12 years the Kuki MLAs have demanded for creation of posts of Chief Secretary and DGP.
In the memorandum, the 10 MLAs mentioned that IAS and MCS officers and IPS and MPS officers belonging to the Kuki Zo tribe have been unable to function and discharge their duties in Imphal Valley.
Of the 10 Kuki MLAs, Haokholet Kipgen of Saitu AC, Letpao Haokip of Tengnoupal AC, LM Khoute of Churachandpur AC, Nemcha Kipgen of Kangpokpi AC, Paolienlal Haokip of Saikot AC Letzamang Haokip of Henglep AC and Vungzagin Valte of Thanlon AC are BJP MLAs. Letpao, Vungzagin and Nemcha are presently holding the Ministerial post in the N. Biren Singh government.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.