Home » ATRPFM expresses appreciation to Chief Minister

ATRPFM expresses appreciation to Chief Minister

by Huirem Naresh
0 comment 4 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, Jan 27:

The All Tribal Rights’ Protection Forum Manipur (ATRPFM) expressed satisfaction and appreciation to the Chief Minister of Manipur for his august visits to Kamjong and Ukhrul in his most recent ‘Go to Hills” programme.
A statement by Aaron  Keishing, Secretary (Law), ATRPFM said that the initiative of the Chief Minister paves a way for economic equality between hills and valleys which would infuse the sense of unity, communal harmony and peaceful co-existence.
“Admittedly, recharging of bonds amongst hills and valleys look conceivable to some degree under the present BJP-led government with welfare slogans of N. Biren Singh, the Chief Minister “Go to Hills” and “Economic Equality”. These should be acknowledged, promoted and proceeded by all groups and political parties notwithstanding their affiliations so our children and little girls, grandsons and the coming ages can witness and recollect the past glories of the State, the statement added.
It further said that peace recommends earnest endeavors at setting up economic equity that goes for a fair appropriation of income. The Chief Minister of Manipur has been consistently striving for communal harmony and economic equality in spite of obstruction from different segments of the society of which we truly acknowledged and appreciated. We will continue to co-operate with the Government.
In connection with the announcement of 48 hrs. bandh on two National Highways from 6th January, 2021, the ATRFM clarifies that the called was just to find a way out  to talk with the Government and withdrawn the same on 6th January, 2021.
“We have no plan to impose the actual bandh and the bandh would not happen even some executive members were not arrested on 5th January, 2021. We know that statewide bandh or bandh on national highways are illegal as per the judgments of the Supreme Court and we will never indulge in illegal activities. It was only a threat. The State Election Commission has tentatively fixed the date as 17-02-2021 for notification of election schedule. Hence, we have no more grievances in the matter.  The ATRPFM fully support BJP-led Government for its vision for unity and equity. In fact, we co-operate the Government for better governance; if we place our grievances to the Government for good administration of hill areas and good functioning of local bodies and get positive outcome, the credit will always goes to the State Government and the CM, not to ATRPFM or any organisation. On this line, we were indirectly supporting the Government. The general public sees the Government, not ATRPFM. Our grievances was only to secure the issuance of Notification for election to ADCs on time or to comply with the order dated 27-11-2020 passed by the High Court of Manipur and extend the term of the ADCs until actual election  is held. Because postponement of election is hit by the intention of democratic, free and fair election in local bodies. A democratic form of Government would survive only if there are elected representatives to rule.
It is the duty of the State Election Commission to see that election is done in a free and fair manner to keep democratic form of Government vibrant and active. The ADC Act, 1971 read with relevant provisions of the Constitution leaves no room for doubt that a State Legislature in the light of the constitutional provisions, cannot do away with this democratic bodies at the local level nor can their normal tenure be curtailed otherwise than in accordance with law nor can the State Govt. delay elections of this bodies. However, the State Government might have its own shortcomings, difficulties and visions to with-hold the election for sometimes; it is up to the wisdom of the Government. We accepted that we have committed a blunder by announcing bandh and request our CM to accept our apologies. We are not the foes of the Government we know that it is the duty of every citizen to co-operate with the Government for smooth functioning for our common happiness.    
ATRPFM said that Jim Kom, Jaojianlung Gangmei, Gaizin Gam Rongmei, Sh Sana Aimol, Enok Kipgen, Aching Koireng, Morling Anal, James Vaiphei, Lun Gangte, Hemin Haokip, Choungsin Koireng, Awgshil Maring are no more members of the ATRPFM and  Komow Pfokrelo has resigned from membership on 12-01-2021 as he is pursuing his studies.
“They left the organisation one by one in the last few years as some of them have joined Government Services, Commission, and others got married and settled down and one is no more. The previous term of the executive committee has been expired and dissolved; ATRPFM will elect new executive members shortly. We are not affiliated to any political party and a neutral organization”, the statement added.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.