Home » All is set for 2nd phase poll; this time triangular fight between BJP, Congress and NPF expected

All is set for 2nd phase poll; this time triangular fight between BJP, Congress and NPF expected

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 3 minutes read

Imphal, March 7: All is set for conduct of the 2nd phase Manipur Legislative Assembly Election tomorrow. Voting will begin from 7 am at 1,151 polling stations in 22 assembly constituencies of Thoubal district, Kakching district, Jiribam district, Tengnoupal District, Ukhrul District, Chandel district Kamjong district, Senapati district, Tamenglong district and Noney district. Total number of electors is 7,83,562 as per source from the Chief Electoral officer, Manipur. Voting will close at 3pm as done in first phase election.
All together 98 candidates are in the fray, among these 4 are women.
Since yesterday those assigned for polling duty at interior party of the assembly constituencies had already left for the polling station and some are all set to leave for their polling station today. Security forces has been alerted in all the polling stations. In the second phase polling too state force will be exempted from poll duty and only the central paramilitary forces will be utilized.
The Election Commission has made elaborate security arrangement by deploying 280 companies of central forces for a free and fair conduct of the elections.
Some of the prominent personality contesting in the second phase poll are Chief Minister Okram Ibobi in Thoubal assembly constituency, Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam in Nungba assembly, Th. Debendro of Jiribam Assembly constituency, MPCC President TN Haokip in Saikot Assembly constituency .
Among the heavy weight BJP contender in this election are Dr. Nimachand Luwang of Andro Assembly constituency, Vice president of BJP Manipur State Unit Moirangthem Hemanta of Wangjing Tentha Assembly constituency.
Interesting some new face are also getting media attentions. BJP candidate Radheshyam , former SP of Manipur Police contesting from Heirok Assembly constituency.
Another figure which the world focus but have little impact in the constituency is Irom Chanu Sharmila, the PRJA candidate challenging the Chief Minister of Manipur Okram Ibobi Singh at Thouba Assembly constituency.
This time Chief Minister Okram Ibobi’s son Okram Surjakanta is also contesting as congress candidate in place of her mother  from Kangabok Assembly constituency.
In the first phase election talk of the town is major contest between the Congress and the BJP. However , this election , political analyst said that NPF will join the contest between the BJP and the Congress.
NPF has field 15 candidates in this 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election.
In the first phase, all political parties in their campaigns focused on the continuing economic blockade by the United Naga Council and the state government’s inability to lift it.
The other important issues exercising the minds of voters are the alleged lack of development, massive corruption, misappropriation of funds and worsening law and order situation in the state.
The BJP leaders criticised the ruling Congress for its alleged failure to solve the over three-month-long economic blockade paralysing the two national highways of the land-locked state.
They flagged the state government’s alleged failure to provide basic amenities to the people of the state, particularly the supply of potable water while the Congress maintained that during its 15-year rule it had implemented key development projects and improved the power supply. With input from PTI

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.