Home » Veteran journalists honoured on AMWJU’s 41st Foundation Day

Veteran journalists honoured on AMWJU’s 41st Foundation Day

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

CM moots to revamp DIPR; assures welfare programmes for journalists

Veteran journalists who had retired from the profession and four other members of the journalists’ fraternity who had died in harness in different incidents were honoured in the 41st Foundation Day of the All Manipur Working Journalists Union.Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh who attended the Foundation Day observance as Chief Guest mooted various developmental programme for the journalists’ fraternity as well as restructuring of the Directorate Information and Public Relation while speaking on the occasion.“Almost all equipments and manpower in the DIPR are outdated and the government is considering to revamp the Directorate”, said Okram Ibobi.He said the present post of District Information Officer (DIO) will be changed to the nomenclature Deputy Director as both the status are equal by virtue.On the other hand the Chief Minister said that the government has allotted land for setting up of a press colony at Langol site. He said the pension for retired journalists has been increased from rupees 2000 to rupees 4000.While appreciating the role of the state journalists, the Chief Minister stated that the status of our journalists is much higher than those of the journalists of other states in the North East India excluding Assam.President of the All Manipur Working Journalists’ Union (AMWJU) Wangkhemcha Shyamjai in his speech called on the journalist fraternity and the publishers of state based newspaper to co-operate with the activities of the All Manipur Working Journalist Union. He said the Union in Association with the Indian Journalists’ Union (IJU) has been working out to increased salary of the journalist by implementing the Majithia wage board.Transport and PWD Minister Dr. Kh. Ratankumar who attended the function as the guest of honour while speaking on the occasion stressed on the problem faced by the journalists of the state while delivering their service. He said journalists of the state are working under tremendous pressure from the outlawed elements, the publishers and others.On the Foundation day celebration, four of the state journalists who had died in harness  viz. Ph Gopal Sharma (Editor Poknapham), Rishikanta (Sub Editor IFP), Dwijamani (cameraman Prime News), Yaiphaba ( Reporter Naharolgi Thoudang ) and Soma Hao were honoured by conferring citation. Veteran Journalists who had retired from the profession including K Modhumangol (Former Editor, Prajatantra), AK Sanaton (Former Editor Ihou), Manihar Goshwami ( Former Editor Chnig Tam), Tombiray (Correspondent PTI) etc were honoured by presenting citation on the occasion.President of the Indian Journalists’ Union (IJU) also extended his heartfelt gratitude to the All Manipur Working Journalists Union on its 41st Foundation Day celebration.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.