Home » ‘Tri-colour a symbol of martyrs’ sacrifice and nation’s pride’

‘Tri-colour a symbol of martyrs’ sacrifice and nation’s pride’

by Guru Aribam Naocha
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT correspondent
Guwahati, Aug 16:

Sangbadik Sangha Purbanchal (SSP)  paid rich tributes to the martyrs of India’s freedom movement on the occasion of 74th Independence Day at the premises of Pragjyotish
newspaper in the city’s Bamunimaidam locality, following Covid-19 protocols with senior journalist Rupam Barua unfurling the national Tri-colour.
Expressing gratitude to the martyrs who sacrificed immensely to make India a sovereign nation, Barua urged citizens to set aside 15 August and 26 January every year to pay them homage. Protests and demonstrations should be avoided on these two days so that all Indians can stand together as one, he asserted, pointing out that certain misguided quarters have no compunctions in airing their grievances even on such sacred occasions  although they are very conscious about their constitutional rights.
“India could adopt a constitution only after being freed of foreign yoke, thanks to the martyrs. It is the moral responsibility of every generation to recall their sacrifices and express gratitude as proud Indians,” he said.
Earlier, at least eight banned armed outfits  issued media statements calling to boycott  the  I-Day celebrations this year across the Northeast region. Calling it a ‘colonial Indian I-Day’,  National Socialist Council of Nagalim and United Liberation Front of Assam (Independent) asked the people not to take part in I-Day related programs. They called for a total shutdown on 15 August  in theregion, terming it the Western part of South-East Asia (WESEA). In a
separate statement, six other insurgent outfits namely People’s Democratic Council of Karbi Longri, Kamatapur Liberation Organization, Hynniewtrep National Council, Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup, Kangleipak Communist Party and National Liberation Front of Twipra called upon
the  people of Northeastern States to ‘take responsibility to make the I-Day ban a grand success’.
SSP convener Nava Thakuria and Pragjyotish editor Khagen Saikia welcomed participants to the flag-hoisting ceremony, which was graced by journalists Satyadhar Matak, Raman Bora, Rubie Das, Girindra Kr Karjee, Sankar Gohain, Iswar Mahanta, Chandra Kr Barua, Kaushik Kr
Deka, Sewali Kalita along with Pramod Kalita, Utpal Dutta, Jagadindra Raychoudhury, Basanta Barthakur, Bharati Kalita, Kishor Sarma, Ila Deka, Tina and Krishna among others.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.