Home » Second phase of LS election concluded in Outer Manipur PC; 76.06 percent voter turn out

Second phase of LS election concluded in Outer Manipur PC; 76.06 percent voter turn out

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read
Second phase of LS election concluded in Outer Manipur PC; 76.06 percent voter turn out

IT News
Imphal, April 26:

Today marked the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections in the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency, encompassing the remaining 13 assembly constituencies. The first phase of voting in the Outer Manipur constituency, covering 15 assembly constituencies, took place on April 19. In this second phase, polling occurred in 13 assembly segments of the Outer Manipur seat, which is reserved for scheduled tribes, spanning eight districts – Ukhrul, Kamjong, Tamenglong, Noney, Senapati, Jiribam, Tengnoupal, and Pherzawl. Voting commenced at 7 am and concluded by 4 pm.
According to a statement by the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Manipur, the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat has a total of 4,84,949 eligible voters, including 2,39,140 men, 2,45,807 women, and two transgender individuals qualified to vote in the second phase of Lok Sabha polls. There are a total of 848 polling stations, comprising 36 P-3 polling stations, 279 P-2 polling stations, and 533 P-1 polling stations, as stated by the Manipur CEO.
The Jiribam Assembly Segment hosted 41 polling stations, including 5 model polling stations and 8 designated for women voters, alongside a special polling station for internally displaced persons (IDPs) situated in the Bidyanagar Multipurpose Sports Complex. In Tamenglong, 332 polling personnel were stationed across 83 polling stations, with 36 stations managed by female personnel. Similarly, in Senapati district, 228 polling stations were established, with 81 manned by female officials. Model polling stations were also instituted in each assembly constituency, with 28 Sector Officers and 66 Micro observers deployed for oversight.

Polling booth for one IDP at Moreh
In line with the Election Commission’s efforts to ensure that internally displaced individuals exercise their right to vote, a special polling station has been established at Moreh Higher Secondary School in Tengnoupal district, specifically for one displaced voter. The polling station number is 01 – at Moreh Higher Secondary School (SPS).

In Noney District, out of 52 polling stations in the Nungba AC, 47 were managed by male officers and 5 by female officers. In Ukhrul District, polling took place for Ukhrul (ST) AC, which has 71 polling stations and 4 special polling stations for displaced persons, with 37 polling stations reserved for women polling personnel. Chingai (ST) AC had 70 polling stations, including 8 designated for women polling personnel, and 1 model polling station for this segment.
As of 5 PM today, polling percentages in various assembly constituencies were as follows: Chingai AC – 66.10%, Jiribam AC – 59.85%, Karong – 86.01%, Mao – 89.84%, Nungba – 74%, Phungyar – 72%, Tadubi – 81.81%, Tamei – 73%, Tamenglong – 71%, Tengnoupal – 85.84%, Thanlon – 72%, Tipaimukh – 79%, Ukhrul – 68.70%. The total voter turnout was 76.06 percent in all these constituencies in the Outer Manipur.
To ensure security at the polling stations, 87 companies of Central Armed Police Forces were deployed, along with 4,000 state armed personnel.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.