Home » Ruling MNF gets just 9 seat, ZPM wins in 27 seats out of 40; Mizoram CM Zoramthanga defeated

Ruling MNF gets just 9 seat, ZPM wins in 27 seats out of 40; Mizoram CM Zoramthanga defeated

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read
Ruling MNF gets just 9 seat, ZPM wins in 27 seats out of 40; Mizoram CM Zoramthanga defeated

The result of the Mizoram state Assembly election was declared today with the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) getting a landslide victory crossing the majority seat to form the next government by wining in the 27 assembly constituency in the 40-member state Legislative Assembly. Chief Minister of Mizoram Zoramthanga, who contested from the Aizwal East 1 constituency was defeated by Lalthansanga of the ZPM. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) of Zoramthanga managed to win in just 9 seats. Congress party wins in 1 seat while the BJP, which has recently gotten an absolute majority in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan managed to win 2 seats.
With the ZPM getting the absolute numbers, its chief ministerial candidate, Lalduhoma, who won from the Serchhip assembly constituency defeating his rival MNF candidate J. Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng by a margin of 2982 votes is likely to stake a claim for the formation of the new government tomorrow.
Speaking to mediapersons Lalduhoma said that he along with his elected members will meet the governor of Mizoram Hari Babu Kambhampati and stake claim to form the government.
Lalduhoma is the 74-year-old former IPS officer, whose political journey began in 1984 when he was elected to the Lok Sabha. He became the first MP to face disqualification under the anti-defection law.
His IPS career involved serving as a squad leader in Goa, where he led crackdowns on smugglers. He gained national attention when he was made security in charge of then PM Indira Gandhi, leading to his transfer to New Delhi in 1982.
Lalduhoma founded the ZPM and was chosen as the first CM candidate of the ZNP-led ZPM coalition in the 2018 assembly elections.
He was disqualified as MP in 2020, but he made his foray back into politics by winning re-election from Serchhip in a bye-election in 2021.
Before holding the reins of the state, Zoramthanga was the deputy of Laldenga – the Mizo leader and chief of Mizo National Front (MNF), which carried out the secessionist movement.
Zoramthanga spent most of his life escaping from the Indian government, by criss-crossing across Myanmar, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and China.
The two BJP candidates elected this time are K. Hrahmo and Dr. K. Beichhua from Palak and Saiha Assembly constituencies. In the last assembly election, BJP managed to win just 1 seat. Congress party which won 5 seats in the last election reduces to just 1 seat this time.
Mizoram political landscape has been dominated by the Congress and Mizo National Front (MNF) since it attained its statehood in 1987. Zoramthanga of the MNF became the chief minister of Mizoram after the 1998 assembly poll ending 10 years of Congress rule and ruled for a decade until Congress came to power in 2008 and 2013 and returned to power in 2018. The ruling party aims for a victory in the 40-member assembly this year but won only 9 seats till now.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.