Home » President rule in Manipur is anti-democracy – Sapam Nishikant

President rule in Manipur is anti-democracy – Sapam Nishikant

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, June 20:

Of the nine MLAs from Manipur, mostly from the BJP, Independent MLA from Keishamthong Assembly Constituency Sapam Nishikant Singh has stated that President rule in Manipur as a remedy to the present crisis is un-democratic and he does not favour any change in the leadership of the Manipur Government.
Media report said that, in the memorandum submitted to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the delegation of nine MLAs – Karam Shyam Singh, MLA Langthabal AC; Th Radheshyam Singh, MLA Heirok AC; Nishikant Singh Sapam, MLA Keishamthong AC; Kh Raghumani, MLA Uripok AC; P Brojen, MLA Wangjing Tentha AC; T Robindro, MLA Thanga AC; S Rajen, MLA Lamsang AC; S Kebi Devi, MLA Naoriya Pakhanglakpa; and Y Radheshyam, MLA Hiyanglam AC have highlighted the complete breakdown of law and order in the state, loss of faith by the public in the present state government and restoration of the Rule of Law so that the trust and confidence of the general public are restored.
Participating in a debate yesterday on India Today television, Independent MLA Nishikant Singh said that president’s rule is anti-democracy and he doesn’t support it, instead, law and order has to be very strong and if things are not working with the present method, one can change the method to bring peace and to overcome trust deficit within both the communities by placing the right kind of people at the right time of place or wherever the trouble is so that peace prevails.
Referring to the demand of some MLAs demanding a change of Chief Minister N. Biren Singh, the independent MLA Nishikant said that he supports the party and the Govt. although the Government needs to be proactive as complete lawlessness is seen sometimes in the state.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.