Home » Outer Manipur constituency elections to span two days due to ethnic unrest

Outer Manipur constituency elections to span two days due to ethnic unrest

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 1 minutes read
Outer Manipur constituency elections to span two days due to ethnic unrest

IT News
Imphal, Mar 17:

In response to recent ethnic violence in the northeastern state, the Election Commission has made a significant decision regarding the elections in the Outer Manipur constituency. While elections for most constituencies occur on a single day, Outer Manipur will conduct its polls over two separate days.
The Election Commission’s announcement on March 16 unveiled the schedule for the General Election, with 544 constituencies listed instead of the usual 543 Lok Sabha seats. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar clarified that this discrepancy arose due to the unique circumstances surrounding the Outer Manipur constituency.
The General Election, spanning seven phases from April 19 to June 1, will see Inner Manipur casting its votes on April 19, while Outer Manipur will hold elections on both April 19 and April 26.
The districts of Churachandpur and Chandel, which experienced violent clashes between Kukis and Meiteis, will be part of the phase 1 polling on April 19.
Polling on April 19 will cover 15 Assembly segments within the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, including Heirok, Wangjing Tentha, Khangabok, Wabgai, Kakching, Hiyanglam, Sugnu, Chandel (ST), Saikul (ST), Kangpokpi, Saitu (ST), Henglep (ST), Churachandpur (ST), Saikot (ST), and Singhat (ST).
The remaining 13 Assembly segments will go to polls on April 26, encompassing Jiribam, Tengnoupal (ST), Phungyar (ST), Ukhrul (ST), Chingai (ST), Karong (ST), Mao (ST), Tadubi (ST), Tamei (ST), Tamenglong (ST), Nungba (ST), Tipaimukh (ST), and Thanlon (ST).
In an effort to facilitate voting for internally displaced persons (IDPs), the Election Commission has devised a scheme allowing them to vote from their current relief camp locations. This scheme, already in place for IDPs in Jammu and Kashmir, will now be implemented in Manipur as well, as confirmed by Rajiv Kumar during the announcement of the election schedule.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.