Home » National Seminar on Science & Technology concluded ; CM distributed ‘Young Scientist Awards’ to 4 Young Scientists

National Seminar on Science & Technology concluded ; CM distributed ‘Young Scientist Awards’ to 4 Young Scientists

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 3 minutes read

The 3 Day National Seminar on Science & Technology for Human Development which was being held at Manipur University concluded today. The valedictory function of the seminar was held at the Court Room of Vice Chancellor’s Secretariat at MU. Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh and Prof. HNK Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Manipur University, attended the function as Chief Guest and President respectively.
Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh who was the Chief Guest of the function appreciated the organisers for successfully organising such a National Seminar. He stated that the seminar will be beneficial in the popularization and promotion of science. The Chief Minister stressed the need to encourage scientific research and further asked for more focus and attention to pure and applied science. Mr Singh also appealed the University authority to provide good working atmosphere for the students, scholars and young scientists.
Showing his concern over the present mode of housing and building construction in the state, particularly in the city areas,the CM stated that his government is willing to set up an eco-friendly Housing Policy in the state where every house or building has the provision to produce energy through solar energy. He said his government is ready to help out and join hands in any scientific approach focused on sustainable development for welfare of the masses. The Chief also welcomes any suggestion regarding the IT Policy of the State.
The Seminar was jointly organised by Indian Science Congress Association, Imphal Chapter and Manipur University under the sponsorship of the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA).
The Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) was set up in 1914 in Calcutta (now Kolkata) with the objective of advancing, promoting and furthering the cause of science in India with only 105 members. ISCA has been contributing to the development of Science in general and National Science Policy, in particular. ISCA now has more than 20,000 members. The Association has been organising National Seminars and Discussion programmes since its inception in 1914.This is the second time that Manipur University is hosting such a session.
Young Scientist Awards were also presented to four scholars/scientists during the valedictory function. The Awards which carry a cash award of Rs.5000, a Citation and a Memento each were handed over to the young scientists by the Chief Minister. The recipients of the awards –         Saikat Kumar Seth of Indian Association of Cultivation of Sciences, Kolkata for the project ‘Polymorphism in unusual Ni(II)-IDA complex: A novel polymorph of Diaquaiminodiacetatonickel(II)’; Ksh. Beliya Luxmi of Department of Anthropology, Manipur University for ‘Estimation of Stature Using Different Body Dimensions Among the Kabui Naga males of Tamenglong, Manipur’; Shyam Maisnam of Department of Life Sciences, Manipur University for ‘Faunistic Diversity of Thrips (Insecta: Thysanoptera)in the Itanagar Wildlife Sanctuary of Arunachal Pradesh’ and Yumnam Bembem of Department of Mathematics for ‘Cosmological models with variable G and A’, also of Manipur University. Today’s function was also attended by University Professors from MU and from other Universities outside the state, scientists and young scientists, scholars and media persons.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.