Home » Manipur Legislative Assembly witnesses the toughest Rajya Sabha election today; counting begins at 8.50 Titular King Sanajoaba is the new Rajya Sabha MP from Manipur

Manipur Legislative Assembly witnesses the toughest Rajya Sabha election today; counting begins at 8.50 Titular King Sanajoaba is the new Rajya Sabha MP from Manipur

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 6 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, June 19:

Manipur Legislative Assembly witnessed the toughest Rajya Sabha election today as both ruling BJP and the opposition Congress play the hardest game ever witnessed in the state. The general perception of the people that the ruling party always get an advantage in the Rajya Sabha Election nearly changed until the ruling BJP used its ultimate technique with all means to make sure that they get the number, no matter what the law of the country says.
Counting of the vote was delayed by around 4 hours as the counting starts at around 8.50 pm today. Counting was delayed after Congress party complaint to the ECI against Speaker Y. Khemchand and MLA Ngamthang Haokip for violation of poll regulation and also another complaint by MLA Robindro who has been disqualified by the Speaker within few hours without giving him any chance for explanation. The ECI finally gave permission for counting of vote only at 8.40 pm today.
Finally, BJP’s candidate RK Sanjaoba (Leishemba Sanajaoba) won the lone Rajya Sabha seat defeating Congress candidate Tongbram Mangibabu. Sanajaoba gets 28 votes while Mangibabu gets 24 votes.
In the 60 member 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly, only 52 members voted to elect the lone Rajya Sabha seat after the disqualification of MLA Th. Shyamkumar, MLA Y. Surchandra, MLA S. Bira, MLA Ksh Biren of the Congress party, MLA Robindro of Trinamool Congress, and the 3 BJP MLAs – S. Subashchandra, TT Haokip, and Samuel Jendai.
According to the report, there has been cross-voting from congress to BJP. A Facebook post from the Chief Minister’s newly open page name CM N BIREN SINGH ONCE MORE, said that 7 Congress MLAs voted for the BJP candidate and 2 votes were invalid. After the resignation of 3 BJP MLA yesterday the total number of BJP MLAs that can vote is 18. Naga People Front (NPF) which have openly declared to support the BJP candidate has 4 MLAs. The lone LJP MLA naturally voted for the BJP. What is interesting is that 3 among the 7 defected Congress MLAs, who were allowed to vote by the Speaker’s tribunal early today morning voted for the BJP making the number to 31 as per the Facebook post from the Chief Minister N. Biren Singh’s page.
As per the number and if in case there are no cross-voting the Congress Party calculated its number to 26 with its original 20 MLAs plus 4 from NPP, one from among the defected Congress MLA but later joined to the party after the speaker barred him from casting vote. He however was allowed after High court intervention and voted to make the number of Congress Supporter to 25. In addition to this, the Congress counts its number to 26 with the support of the lone Independent candidate.
Interestingly, MLA Robindro who had been disqualified by the Speaker’s tribunal today came to the state Assembly at late hour minutes before the end of the voting but could not vote due to reason not known. The source said that the voting was close as he reached the State Assembly with the court order.
However, not everything that has been calculated base on arithmetic proves wrong. The toughest Rajya Sabha Election concluded once more proving that the Ruling party always is in the upper hand.
RK Sanajaoba popularly known to the people as Leishemba Sanajaoba , the titular king of Manipur is today the new member of Parliament of the Rajya Sabha representing the state of Manipur .
Along with Manipur, 18 more Rajya Sabha seat election was held at other states of India. According to all India Raio election for three Rajya Seat was held ay Rajasthan. Four candidates, two from Congress and two from BJP contested for three seats. 
Voting was held till 4 p.m. and counting of votes begins at 5 p.m. The Congress has fielded K.C. Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi, while BJP’s Rajendra Gehlot and Onkar Singh Lakhawat are in the fray. 
Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and BJP President Satish Poonia along with 120 legislators in the 200-member Legislative Assembly had cast their votes when the reports last came. 
In Gujarat, election for four Rajya Sabha seats was held at the State Assembly Secretariat in Gandhinagar today. BJP has fielded three candidates, while the Congress has given tickets to two candidates.  
The Election Commission has made elaborate preparation for elections in view of COVID-19 pandemic. Sources said that every MLA is being screened for temperature, has to use a mask and maintain social distance. 
Separate arrangements have been made for MLAs with fever or other symptoms. 
In Mizoram, 39 out of total 40 legislators of State Assembly cast their votes by 2 p.m. during the election held for the lone Rajya Sabha seat. The polling process which began this morning will end at 4 p.m. 
In the morning, the legislators started reaching the Assembly House wearing face masks and maintaining social distancing norms for casting votes amid the COVID-19 pandemic situation. The legislators had to pass through thermal screening as per the election commission guidelines. 
In a triangular election, all legislative parties, except BJP fielded their candidates. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded its Core Committee Member K Vanlalvena, while the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) fielded B. Lalchhanzova and the Congress candidate in fray is  Dr. Lallianchhunga. In the 40-member State Assembly, the ruling MNF has 27 members, ZPM seven, Congress five and the BJP has one MLA.   
In Meghalaya, polling for the lone Rajya Sabha seat which began this morning is going on in full swing at the temporary Assembly building at Rilbong, Shillong while the results will be announced this evening. Both the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) coalition and Opposition Congress are optimistic for a win. 
Majority of the political bigwigs casting votes included Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma; Leader of Opposition Dr Mukul Sangma; Assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh; Senior Congress leader Charles Pyngrope; Power Minister James Sangma among others. 
The two candidates include MDA common candidate and NPP State President Dr WR Kharlukhi along with Congress candidate Keneddy Khyriem.


You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.