Home » INDI Alliance celebrates landmark victory in Manipur’s Lok Sabha elections

INDI Alliance celebrates landmark victory in Manipur’s Lok Sabha elections

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read
INDI Alliance celebrates landmark victory in Manipur’s Lok Sabha elections

IT News
Imphal, June 5:

The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, Okram Ibobi, has lauded the people’s mandate in the recently concluded 18th Lok Sabha Election in Manipur. Members of the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) bloc celebrated the electoral success of their newly elected Lok Sabha Members of Parliament from both the Inner and Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituencies at Congress Bhavan today.
“This victory shows that democracy prevails over money and muscle power,” CLP leader Okram Ibobi stated. He criticized the BJP government for attempting to promote dictatorship, contrary to India’s democratic traditions.
Congratulating Dr. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, elected from the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, and Alfred Kanngam S Arthur, elected from the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, Ibobi remarked that their victories mark a new chapter for the troubled state. He urged the new MPs to honor the people’s mandate with dedication and commitment.
Ibobi emphasized the importance of active participation by MPs from smaller states like Manipur, stating, “Every MP’s role matters in our democracy, and exemplary work in Parliament can bring about significant change.” He also criticized the Manipur government for not conducting Panchayati Raj and Municipal elections on time, accusing the BJP of undermining the constitution.
Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee President Keisham Meghachandra highlighted the rarity and significance of winning MP seats from the opposition. “Both candidates won by large margins, reflecting the people’s trust,” Meghachandra said. He pledged that the Congress party would work tirelessly to fulfill its commitments, prioritizing peace and welfare in the state.
In the recent elections, Alfred Kanngam S Arthur received 384,954 votes, defeating his closest rival, NPF candidate Kachui Timothy Zimik, who garnered 299,536 votes. Dr. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam secured 374,017 votes, surpassing BJP candidate Thounaojam Basantakumar Singh, who received 264,216 votes. Both seats for Manipur were won by Congress, underscoring the party’s strong position in the state.
This victory celebration at Congress Bhavan symbolizes a renewed hope for Manipur, with the elected MPs set to play pivotal roles in addressing the state’s issues and championing its interests at the national level.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.