Home » Inclusion of CM, Ministers and MLAs in Peace Committee not going to serve its purpose – Asang Kashar

Inclusion of CM, Ministers and MLAs in Peace Committee not going to serve its purpose – Asang Kashar

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, June 13:

The Forum for Restoration of Peace, Manipur has stated that the Peace Committee constituted by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs under the Chairmanship of Manipur Governor is not going to serve its purpose as there are members of the conflicting parties.
Talking to media persons at Manipur Press Club, Convenor of the Forum, Asang Kashar said that restoration of peace is only possible after a third party bridge the misunderstanding among the two communities. He said that the inclusion of MLAs or Ministers or members from the communities that are engaging in the conflict is not the solution.
Asang Kashar said that Manipur is inhabited by 34 tribes and representatives from each tribe should be included in the committee. Until and unless there are representatives from each tribe the committee is not going to serve its purpose, said the Convenor of the p\Peace Committee. He also said that during the visit of NEDA Convenor Himanta Biswa, the Forum for Restoration of Peace had urged him for the constitution of a peace committee on June 10. On June 11 the Union MHA had constituted a peace committee comprising 51 members. However, none from the Forum has been included in the committee.
“We strongly believe that inclusion of Chief Minister N. Biren Singh and other Minister and MLAs is not going to serve the purpose of the peace committee”, Asang Kashar said. He added that already there has been voice from many sides against the peace committee.
On the other hand, Asang Kashar said that the forum has been working for the restoration of peace in the state and the forum will continue to work for peace in Manipur.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.