Home » Dy. CM Gaikhangam, BJP leader Th. Chaoba, Speaker Th Lokeshwar among others filed nominations

Dy. CM Gaikhangam, BJP leader Th. Chaoba, Speaker Th Lokeshwar among others filed nominations

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, Feb 13: Election euphoria is once more fielding the air here in the state with more heavy-weight politicians filing nomination papers for contesting the upcoming state assembly polls. Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam, who is contesting from Nungba Assembly constituency today filed his nomination paper at Tamenglong DC office. Interestingly, the deputy chief minister faced strong opposition from sections of people from Tamenglong district as shops and all market shut down protesting his visit. Some protestors even burn Gaikhangam’s effigy at the market minutes before his arrival at Tamenglong DC office. The protest is being staged against the alleged ignorance to the suffering of the people in Tamenglong district by the Congress government. Gaikhangam instead of retreating, went to his native village after filling nomination. Security has been beefed up in the district following the protest. Vehicles plying between Tamenglong to Imphal were put to halt for some minutes by security force in view of the development. Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, Th. Lokeshwar, who is contesting as congress candidate from Khundrakpam Assembly constituency have also filed nomination paper today at Imphal East DC office. BJP strong man, Th. Chaoba who is contesting from Nambol Assembly constituency also filed his nomination paper at Bishnupur district DC office. Union Human Resource Minister Prakash Javedkar along with large number of BJP workers and supporters accompanied Th. Chaoba while fielding the nomination paper. Other congress candidates, filed nomination papers are Social Welfare Minister AK Mirabai, M Okendro, Minister for RD & PR who are contesting from Patsoi and Heirok Assembly Constituencies respectively have also submitted their nomination papers. Minister Okendro filed his nomination papers at Thoubal District DC, while AK Mirabai filed his nomination at Imphal West DC Office. LJP Candidate Karam Shyam and MNDF candidate of Andro Assembly constituency Keisham Ningthemjao also filed nomination papers today.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.