Home » Disqualification case filed against 5 more defected congress MLAs

Disqualification case filed against 5 more defected congress MLAs

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News

Imphal, Nov 28,

Almost all the defected Congress MLAs is likely to face the music as the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) had given up its tolerance and started filing disqualification case to one after another under the 10th Schedule of the Indian Constitution at the Manipur Speaker tribunals.

MPCC MLA from Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency today filed for disqualification of MLA Bira of Kumbi Assembly Constituency who had defected from the party by violating the 10th Scheduled of the Indian Constitution.  The petitions were filed under Article 191 (2) and Para 2(1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule to the constitution of India in addition with rule 6 of the members of Manipur Legislative Assembly which stated about disqualification on the ground of defection rule of 1996.

Similar disqualification cases were also filed against MLA Ngamthang Haokip, MLA P Brojen, MLA Ginsuhao and  MLA Ksh Biren by Congress MLA K. Meghachandra, MLA Govindas Konthoujam, MLA O Surjakumar and MLA O Henery.

On November 8, Congress MLA Kangujam Ranjit Singh filed the petition for disqualification of MLA Oinam Lukhoi Singh who got elected from Wangoi Assembly Constituency while Congress MLA D.D. Thaisii filed the petition for disqualification of MLA Yengkhom Surchandra separately.

Minister Th Shyamkumar who was elected congress MLA but joined the BJP on the day of formation of the government is also facing disqualification case after the MPCC President TN Haokip filed petition for his disqualification.

The filing of the petition of the disqualification of the 2 MLA who had defected from the Congress party turns out to be a significant move with the Parliamentary Election knocking at the door. The Parliamentary election is likely to be held in early months of 2019.

In the State Assembly Election, Congress which was then in power, secured 28 seats to finish as the single largest party. The BJP, which secured 21 seats much less then the Congress managed to joined hands with a lone Trinamool Congress MLA, Nationalist Peoples’ Party (NPP), which have 4 MLA, Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF) which also have 4 MLAs and Independent MLA from Jiribam along with Congress MLA Shyamkumar to form the government in March 15.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.