Home » Deck clears; but verdict reserves with the Speaker

Deck clears; but verdict reserves with the Speaker

by williamgurumayum
1 comment 2 minutes read

The matter is damn serious now. The Manipur Legislative Assembly Secretariat is under pressure. Speaker, Th. Lokeshore is now compelled to dispose the case of four MLAs at which the All India Trinamool Congress Party had lodged complaint for disqualification. August 21 is the ultimatum served to the 4 MLAs for giving explanation regarding the complaints lodged against them. If any of them fails to turn up, the Speaker will be empowered to declare the verdict – whether it may be in favour of the complaints or in support of the MLAs.According to a reliable source, the speaker has assigned 5 to 6 special staffs to look into the matter. Secretary of the Legislative Assembly or the Liaison officer could not be contacted to inquire about the stage of proceedings. But, the security guards of the state assembly secretariats have been ordered to keep strict vigils and disallow any visitors inside the complex on August 21. This has showed that something serious is going to happen on August 21.A source leaked from the secretariat revealed that there is strong point in favour of the complainants in accordance to the clauses of the anti defection laws. What worries the ruling congress party is that if the proceeding goes in favour of the complainant for disqualification of the 4 MLAs the same would also be applicable with the MLAs of the Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP), who had merged to the Congress party ahead of the recently concluded Lok Sabha election.Meanwhile, rival candidates of the four MLAs – Kh. Joykishan, O Lukhoi, K Sarat and Th. Bishojit have started campaign for bye poll in their respective constituencies. In the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election, MLA Joykishan had ousted his nearest rival Jotin of the Congress, Dr. Sapam Ranjan was defeated by MLA K Sarat, Salam Joy of the NCP was defeated by MLA O Lukhoi and Congress Candidate Bijoy Koijam was defeated by MLA Th. Bishwajit in the respective assembly constituencies.Political analysts are of the view that the state government might plan for a one time bye poll in collusion with the bye election schedule of the Hiyanglam Assembly Constituency which is likely to be announced by the Election Commission of India in the coming days.

You may also like

1 comment

John Basho Pou August 21, 2014 - 5:39 am

Like the latest updates.


Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

error: Content is protected !!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.
slot gacor slot demo slot thailand