Home » Chief Minister Okram Ibobi files nominations; ‘Congress will get 2/3rd seats’

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi files nominations; ‘Congress will get 2/3rd seats’

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, Feb 16: Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, who is contesting the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly election from Thoubal Assembly constituency today filed his nomination paper to the Returning Officer of Thoubal District Election Officer.
Okram held the office of the Chief Minister for three consecutive terms and hr still expect to hold the office for another term saying that Congress Party will get absolute majority in this election.
“We (Congress) will get 2/3rd seats in this election”, says the confident Chief Minister while talking to reporters after filing nominations.
This means of the 60 seats, the congress party is expecting to win 40 seats.
Okram Ibobi however said that there may be some ups and down in the seven assembly segments of greater Imphal area but he assured win in other seats other than the greater Imphal area as well as hill districts assembly election.
“In Naga dominated area there are 10 seats and among these we are getting not more than 50%”, said Okram Ibobi Singh.
Mention may be made that Naga civil boby United Naga Council (UNC) had been has been imposing economic blockade for over 105 days against the creation new administrative distrit by Ibobi led congress government.
He also said that in Ukhrul Assembly constituency he can make sure of congress wining the seat.
Interestingly, Ukhrul is the place where Chief Minister Okram Ibobi along with his cabinet colleague received deadly protest while trying to inaugurate a Mini Secretariat building last years.
The Chief Minister is confident of winning Tengnoupal, Ukhrul aand some other seats at Senapati district.
On being asked whether Irom Chanu Sharmila is a threat to him or not, Ibobi said that in democracy there is nothing called threat and everybody can contest election.
Okram Ibobi Singh hails from Khangabok Assembly constituency and after becoming Chief Minister in 8th Manipur Legislative Assembly he contested at both Thoubal and Khangabok Assembly constituencies in 9th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election in 2007 and won at both seats. Later he gave up Khangabok by fielding his wife Landhoni to replace him and till now he has been contesting at Thoubal Assembly constituency.
Last Assembly election three candidates were in the fray and Okram Ibobi SIngh win the seat by securing a total  of 19121 votes.
This time, five candidates are likely to be in the fray in Thoubal Assembly Constituency including Chief Minister Okram Ibobi himself, if none of the candidate withdraws its nominations.
Irom Chanu Sharmila of PRJA, the onetime AFSPA crusader is also among the contender of Okram Ibobi Singh.
Other candidates are Leitanthem Bashanta of BJP, Leishangthem Suresh of Trinamool Congress and Independent candidate AK Manglemjao.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.