Home » CEO briefs on status of Special summary revision

CEO briefs on status of Special summary revision

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 3 minutes read

Imphal, Nov. 22: In view of the concerns raised by the Election Commission of India (ECI), a Video Conference was held on 21.11.2016 with the District Election Officers (DEOs) and Superintendents of Police (SPs) regarding Special Summary Revision-2017. This was stated by Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur Shri Vivek Kumar Dewangan in a Press Conference held  today at Conference Hall of Manipur Secretariat, South Block.
Regarding  the Special Summary Revision-2017, Security Plan and Poll Preparedness, all the DEOs and SPs in Manipur are instructed to ensure action in their respective Districts in time line given against each of the issue.
The Sub-Divisonal Officer/Electoral Registration Officers (EROs)/Assistant Electoral Registration Officers (AEROs) not having jurisdiction in the respective Assembly Constituencies (ACs) in the District shall exercise and verify the following by 25.11.2016 positively. 100% verification of new Electors in top five Polling stations in each Assembly constituency having shown maximum addition in Electors. 100% verification of female electors in top five Polling stations in each Assembly constituency having maximum Gender Ratio and 100% verification of Electors in top five Polling stations in each AC having maximum Elector to Population Ratio.
The findings of the verification exercise in writings by the concerned Officers need to be validated by the District Election Officers after taking corrective action (if any) before uploading data of SSR-2017 by 25th Nov, 2016.
The Officer-in-charge of the Police Station has to give an undertaking in writing by 25.11.2016 about the list of History Sheeters, Identified Trouble Mongers, suspected Trouble Mongers  duly validated by the SDPO/Addl. SP. The DEO and SP shall jointly prepare action plan by 25.11.2016 to ensure submission of licensed weapons in a time bound manner before actual conduct of Assembly Elections 2017.
The CEO further stated the status of special summary revision after November 18, 2016 being the last date of disposal of claims and objections by the Election Registration Officers. The total number of forms received during Summary Revision with respect to 01.01.2017 and Status of its disposal for the State are as follows, under form (6) application for addition of names, 125479 were accepted as new voters out of the total received 167321 and 41842 voters were rejected. Form (7) application for deletion of names, 29019 applicants have been accepted out of 39586 received and 10567 were rejected.  Form (8) pertains to correction in the names etc.  52470 applicants have been accepted for correction out of  63106  and 10636 have been rejected. Under Form (8A) transposition, shifting of names from one part to another 5354 application have been accepted out of 7303 received and 1949 were rejected.
In all the 2794 polling stations  across the state, live webcast will be done where 3G connectivity is available  whereas, CCTV will  be installed to the rest polling stations where 3G is not available, the CEO added. Large scale transfer of officials were also exercise with prior intimation to ECI.
The Press Conference was attended by Addl. CEOs Shri R.K.Dinesh Singh, Shri Modak Hrisheekesh Arvind and Officials of Election department.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.