Home » Campaign for Phase 2 poll ends, 8 lakh voters will decide the fate of 92 candidates

Campaign for Phase 2 poll ends, 8 lakh voters will decide the fate of 92 candidates

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, March 3:

The election campaigning for Phase-2 of the Manipur Assembly Elections ends as the silent period begins from 4 pm today. In the second phase, polling will be conducted at 22 constituencies out of the total 60 seats on Saturday.
Ahead of the silent period, the political heavyweights of both the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and opposition Congress parties continued to address public meetings at different areas of the poll-bound assembly and appealed to vote for their respective parties.
Chief Minister N Biren Singh led BJP leaders attended a public meeting at Lilong Haoreibi Mayai Leikai in Thoubal district while the AICC senior observer Jairam Ramesh and Manipur Secular Progressive Alliance leaders led by Dr M Nara Singh appealed to the people to vote for their alliance candidates.
A senior functionary of the BJP Manipur said they are expecting minimum 14-15 seats from the 22 assembly constituencies. On the other hand, Congress leaders said they will sweep the Thoubal district.
In 2017 assembly elections, Congress bagged a total of 8 seats out of 10 seats in Thoubal district.
In the second phase of polling on March 5, 92 candidates including 2 women candidates, will contest at 22 assembly constituencies under six electoral districts. A total of 8,47,400 voters including 4,28,968 females and 4,18,432 males will franchise their rights.
BJP fielded candidates for all the 22 assembly seats while Congress fielded 18 candidates, BJP ally National People’s Party has 11,Naga People’s Front and Janata Dal(U) have 10 each.
The first phase of polling will decide the fate of former Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, his son O Surjakumar, former Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam, forest minister Awangbow Newmai, Water supply minister Losii Dikho, former education minister Th Radheshyam, who were seeking re-election from Thoubal, Khangabok, Nungba, Tamei, Mao and Heirok Assembly constituencies.
A maximum of 8 candidates are contesting in Wangkhem Assembly constituency.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.