Home » Booth capturing, poll violence, clash between candidates’ supporters mark the fifth Panchayat Election

Booth capturing, poll violence, clash between candidates’ supporters mark the fifth Panchayat Election

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, Oct. 7: Voting for the fifth Panchayat election began at 8 am today. Early hours report said that voting was conducted in a peaceful manner at almost all places however, later stage of the voting was a direct blow to the democratic election with supporters of candidates capturing ballot boxes, clashed between workers and firing by police at different places are reported.
At Khabeisoi area and Heigrumakhong area of Khurai Assembly constituency the supporters of a specific candidates did not even allowed news-reporters to enter the polling station.
At Kiyamgei Maning leikai Heibong Makhong in Keiroa Assembly constituency polling officials had to left the station before 3 pm as some of the miscreants allegedly destroyed the ballot boxes.
At Kairang in Heingang Assembly constituency police had to resort firing of tear gas shell and rubber bullet. At least two persons who throng in a polling booth with batons were reported injured. Some others were also reported injured in stampede as the mob runs here and there.
Report added lately also said that re-poll is likely at 8/20/11 Mecca Sangaiyumpham Cherapur Mathak Leikai of Wangjing and at 2/3/16 Irong Thokchom Moirang Sangom L.P. school .
Panchayat election is held to elect new local body representatives including Zilla Parishad, Pradhan and ward members. In case of any election misconduct, re-polling will be held on October 9, 2017, a report claimed.
A total of 7,16,813 voters including 3,68,691 females and 3,48,139 males will exercise their franchise in the election. Each voter has to cast his/her vote in secrecy in three ballot papers of three different colours. Ballot paper for Pradhan is in yellow, for Zilla Parishad in pink colour and Gram Panchayat member in white.
Voting will take place in all six valley districts of Manipur – Imphal West, Imphal East, Bishnupur, Jiribam, Kakching and Thoubal – across 1,521 polling stations to elect 60 Zilla Parishad Members, 161 Pradhans and 1,513 ward members.
60 Zila Parishad Members, 158 Gram Panchayat Pradhans and 1118 Gram Panchayat Ward Members will be elected in this election. Altogether 3180 candidates are in the fray for the rural body elections.
The counting of votes will take place on October 11. The election process would be completed by October 16 before the expiry of the term of the existing representatives on October 23.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.