Home » All set for counting of votes in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland

All set for counting of votes in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 1 minutes read

Imphal, March 2: All arrangements are in place for tomorrow’s counting of votes for Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland Assembly elections.
Tripura went to polls on the 18th of last month, while voting in Meghalaya and Nagaland was held on Tuesday.
All the three states have a 60-member Assembly, but polling was held for 59 seats in each state. Polling to Charilam (ST) seat in Tripura was postponed till the 12th of next month due to the death of CPIM candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma.
In Meghalaya, the election was countermanded in Williamnagar in the wake of the killing of NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma in an IED blast, while in Nagaland, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party Chief Neiphiu Rio was declared elected unopposed from the Northern Angami-II constituency.
In Tripura, over 92 per cent voters had exercised their franchise in the elections, setting a new record. In Nagaland, over 75 per cent voting was recorded, while in Meghalaya, 67 per cent votes were polled.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.