Home » ‘ADC members are deprived of their rights’

‘ADC members are deprived of their rights’

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 1 minutes read

The existing 6(six) Autonomous District Councils (ADCs) in Manipur i.e.( 1)  Churachandpur ( 2) Chandel (3) Sadar Hills (4) Senapati (5) Ukhrul and (6) Tamenglong were installed in the year 1973 in pursuance of the North Eastern Reorganization Act, 1971 and later passed as Parliamentary Act called ‘The Manipur(Hill Areas) District Council Act, 1971’said Churachandpur ADC Chairman, Langkhanpau Guite, in an interaction with Imphal Times.However, Langkhanpau Guite said,   due to non devolution of the powers and functions under the said Acts and Rules the ADC Elections was withheld since 1989 in demand for extending the provisions of the Sixth Scheduled Provision of the Indian Constitution to these ADCs.Elaborating his point, Guite said that three successive governments in the State had adopted resolutions for 6th schedule implementation based on the recommendation of the Hill Areas Committee (HAC) Manipur. However, the issue was kept in abeyance by the State Government despite repeated reminders by the Centre Government.The ADC Chairman said, after 20 years, the ADCs were revived and elections were held in 2010, with a renewed hope under the Manipur (Hill Areas) District Council, Third(3rd) Amendment Act, 2008  . But to our utter dismay even as we complete four years we see no change and are denied of powers bestowed under the said Act. According to the new Act, there were 26 (twenty six) subjects  enlisted under Section 29 in sub-section (1) of the principal Act.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.