Home » 18 member delegates of Manipur Legislative Assembly leaves for New Delhi

18 member delegates of Manipur Legislative Assembly leaves for New Delhi

Delegates to urge speedy solution to the ongoing crisis

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, Sept 13:

Following pressure from various CSOs and Meira Paibis, a delegate of 18 members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly including two Ministers left for New Delhi today to urge the Central Government for finding a speedy solution to the ongoing crisis in the state. The delegate will also urge the Central Authority to take stringent measures against foreign elements instigating the ongoing crisis after conducting a thorough enquiry.
Source with the Imphal Times said that Manipur’s delegate will oppose any form of Separate Administration in Manipur and is also likely to put the matter of existing Land Law of the state. A top source said the team will urge the central government leadership to extend the MLR & LR Act, 1960 to the whole of the state. Mentioned may be made that when the MLR & LR Act 1960 was tabled in the parliament in 1959, there was no mention of the ‘except in the Hill areas of Manipur). That is the ML & LR Act is extended to the whole of the state. After the Bill was passed in both houses of Parliament the words that limit the act in Valley district were inserted. The proceedings of the Parliament were on record. It is likely that the members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly may urge the Central authority to enquire on how the ‘Act’ has been limited to the valley area only when it was for the whole of the state while discussing the Bill.
The Manipur delegate is also likely to put up the grievances of the people in connection with the bais and unruly behaviours of the Assam Rifles in Manipur while dealing with the ongoing crisis.
The 18 member delegates include Education Minister Thounaojam Basanta, Social Welfare Minister Heikham Dingo Singh, and 16 MLAs, namely K. Robindro Singh, Dr. Y. Radheshyam Singh, Dr. U. Deben Singh, Kh. Ibomcha Singh, S. Premchandra Singh, S. Kunjakeshwor, S. Kebi Devi, T. Robindro Singh, S. Rajen Singh, Kh. Joykisan Singh, Th. Arun Kumar Singh, Kh. Loken Singh, M. Loken Singh, M. Rameshwar Singh, I. Nalini Devi, Th. Shanti Singh, and Md. Abdul Nasir. Among the members, some had stated that they would return back only after the crisis in Manipur is resolved.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.