Home » 12th Manipur legislative Assembly Election: INC candidates’ expenditure higher than BJP candidates on average

12th Manipur legislative Assembly Election: INC candidates’ expenditure higher than BJP candidates on average

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, May 9:

The much talk about large scale election expenditures by each of the political parties and its candidates in the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election turn out to be a mere kitchen talk of the people as the election expenditure submitted by each candidate of political parties are all below Rs. 23 lakhs, where one BJP candidate reportedly spent just Rs. 3,94,642/-.
In a press meet held at Kwakeithel Mayaikoibi, today afternoon, Youth Collective Manipur (YCM) presented a detail report of the Election Expenditure Statement released today at New Delhi by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). Manipur’s maximum election expenditure for each candidate stands at 28, 00,000/-.
“In sharp contrast to the popular perception of the astronomical rise in election expenditure, the MLA’s elections expenditure affidavits analysis shows a totally different picture. It is interesting to note that the lowest expenditure stated to have been incurred by Dr. Yumnam Radheshyam Singh, MLA, is just Rs. 3,94,642/- and the highest expenditure stated to have been incurred by Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh, MLA, is Rs. 22,14,206/-. All the other MLA’s expenditure is in between these figures”, Thongam Zingo , Co-ordinator of the People’s Election Monitoring (YCM) said.
All the elected MLAs are supposed to submit their election expenditure statement to their concerned District Election Officers within 30 days from the declaration of the election results. The Election Commission should immediately upload the statement on its website. The ADR report has presented an analysis of the expenditure statements available on the ECI website.
Chief Minister N. Biren Singh spent Rs 15,69,534.9/- in his election as per his statement submitted. While Congress legislature wing leader Okram Ibobi spent Rs. 20,55,918/- as per his expenditure statement.
“Instances of Ministers/politicians ruing over the crores of rupees being spent during the election have recently kicked off controversies. However, their stated expenditure is much less than the upper limit of 28 lakhs. YCM wishes to leave the public at large to reflect on the gap between the reality that we face on the ground and the pretension and hypocrisy of the system”, Thongam Zingo, said.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.