Home » YAI Sail India 2023 Regatta Held in Mumbai

YAI Sail India 2023 Regatta Held in Mumbai

by Raju Vernekar
0 comment 3 minutes read

By Raju Vernekar
Mumbai, Feb 1:

The race for YAI Sail India 2023 (Ranking Event and Asian Games Selection Trials II) which began on January 24 was culminated at Girgaum Chowpatty in South Mumbai on January 31, Tuesday.
The competition was organised by the Army Yachting Node (AYN), Mumbai in conjunction with the Yachting Association of India (YAI). The regatta comprised a single series of fleet racing for all classes.
The yachtsmen/women across the India participated in the event. The prizes were awarded to the winners in a function organised at the venue in the evening.
Final results in each class were: ILCA 7-  Vishnu Sarvanan (AYN) – Gold Medal, 2. Mohit Saini (AYN) – Silver Medal, Gitesh (AYN) – Bronze Medal, ILCA 6- Nethra Kumanan (TNSA) – Gold Medal,  Ritika Dangi (NSS) – Silver Medal, Sonal Goel (AYN) – Bronze Medal.
ILCA 4 (Boys)- Adhavait Menon (INWTC Mandovi) – Gold Medal,  Shashank (NSS) -Silver Medal,. K Nithin Naik (TSC) – Bronze Medal, ILCA 4 (Girls)-Neha Thakur (NSS) – Gold Medal,. Pearl Colvalkar (CESC) – Silver Medal, Divyanshi Mishra (NSS) – Bronze Medal.
RS:X (Men)-Eabad Ali (AYN) – Gold Medal, V P Pathak (AYN) – Silver Medal, Mitlesh Kumar (EMESA) – Bronze Medal. RS:X (Women)-Ishwarya Ganesh (TNSA) – Gold Medal,  Vidyansh I Mishra (NSS Bhopal) – Silver Medal. iQFoil (Men)- Jerome Kumar (AYN) – Gold Medal, Dane Coelho (GYA) – Silver Medal,  Saurabh Kumar (AYN) – Bronze Medal. iQFoil (Women)- Katya Coelho (GYA) – Gold Medal.
49er- KC Ganapathy/Varun Thakar (TNSA) – Gold Medal, Prince Noble/ Manu Francis (AYN) – Silver Medal,. Anand Thakur/Satyamrangad(INWTC) – Bronze Medal. 49erFX-  Harshita Tomar/Shital Verma (NSS Bhopal) – Gold Medal,
470 (Mixed)- Shraddha Verma/ RK Sharma (INWTC Mbi) – Gold Medal, Kongara Preethi(YCH)/ Sudanshu Shekhar (INWTC Mbi) – Silver Medal, Uma Chauhan (NSS Bhopal)/ CHS Reddy (AYN) – Bronze Medal.
Nacra 17 (Mixed)-Doiphode/Ramya Saravanan (AYN) – Gold Medal, Ekta Yadav (NSS Bhopal)/ Karthik B (AYN) – Silver Medal, Lt Cdr Aman Vyas (INWTC)/ Aastha Senapati (INWTC) – Bronze Medal.
The Army Yachting Node was established in 2001 at Mumbai under HQ Maharashtra Gujarat & Goa Area and is co-located with the Naval Sailing Club at Colaba in South Mumbai. The yachtsmen of the AYN have been dominating in events at National level, by making a clean sweep of all the medals in most of the events. At present 60 sailors from all Arms and Services are training at AYN which is equipped with the state-of-the-art training facilities and highly qualified coaches. 
This regatta is conducted every year to achieve the aim of attracting more youth across all genders and class into this sport and develop young talent and technical specialisation for the Army sailing for the future glory of the country. The championship also seeks to promote  this ‘clean green’ sport amongst the youth of the country and make this a premier international sailing event in the country.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.