Home » Voters turn out in 2nd phase Manipur poll reaches 83%; EVM machines destroyed, voters clashed at some polling station; some candidate supporters reported kidnapped

Voters turn out in 2nd phase Manipur poll reaches 83%; EVM machines destroyed, voters clashed at some polling station; some candidate supporters reported kidnapped

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, March 8: 2nd phase polling of the Manipur Legislative Assembly today took place at 22 assembly constituencies of the state from 7 am till 3 pm today. Preliminary report said that voters turn out rate reached around 83% even as there are incidences of EVM machines destroyed at some polling station in Thoubal district and Chandel district. There were also report of deadly clashed between voters at two polling stations at Chingai Assembly constituency of newly created Kamjong District.
At Phungyar assembly constituency suspected cadres of NSCN-IM reportedly kidnapped six workers of congress candidate Victor Keishing at around 11. 30 am. 
Report reaching here said that clashed between workers of two rival candidate two polling stations namely  45/6 & 45/7 both at Chingjaroi KL-A/B of Chingai AC play foul in the smooth conduct of the poll. The polling was forced to hold for few hours.
The report added that at around 11 am a lady voter destroyed another EVM Machine at 45/76 Chingiaroi khullen polling station of Chingai Assembly Constituencies. Another EVM Machine was also reported destroyed at 45/30 Poiyo polling station however voting began after another new EVM Machine was dispatch from Ukhrul district head quarter at around 11 am.
At Chandel Assembly constituency miscreants destroyed an EVM machine at 41/32 Komlathabi polling station. Following that polling was stopped for some hours. Later, after another EVM Machine was dispatch the voting continued without further disturbances.
In Chingai Assembly constituency INC Candidate Preshaw Shimray, NPF Candidate Khasim Ruivah, BJP candidate Sword Vashum and NEIDP candidate NK Shimray are in the fray.
Interestingly in Tamenglong Assembly constituency polling station number 53/40, 53/50, 53/92, 52/38, 53/67, 53/41 and 63/52 completed at 12. noon. In Tamenglong Assembly Constituency Jangamlung Panmei of INC, Janghemlung P of NPF and Samuel Jendai Kamei of BJP are in the fray.  
Voting at 10 assembly constituencies in Thoubal and Kakching district was reported peaceful in most area except some confrontations between workers near some polling station. However, in the morning some people destroyed an EVM machine at 34/12  polling station of Wangjing Tentha Assembly constituency.
Some of the Congress strongmen including Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam , D. Karungthang and K Ranjit are contesting in the second phase election.
Anti AFSPA Crusader irom Chanu Sharmila, is also contesting this election at Thoubal Assembly constituency challenging the Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh who is contesting from the same.
Altogether 98 candidates are in the fray among which 4 are women candidates.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.