Home » Statement presented by MPCC on Indo-Myanmar Boundary Crisis

Statement presented by MPCC on Indo-Myanmar Boundary Crisis

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

1.    Boundary Agreement between Government of India and Union of Burma at Rangoon (Yangoon), 10 March 1967 signed by K. Kannamplly on behalf of Government of India and Kyi Maung on behalf of Government of Burma (both Plenipotentiary).
2.    The Agreement was basically emphasized on ‘traditional’ boundary. The contracting parties agreed to demarcate the boundary beginning from the southern extremely (Mizoram sector) ending to the northern extremity (Arunachal Sector).
3.    Total length of Indo-Myanmar boundary is 1643 Kms. Out of which undemarcated portion of Kabaw Valley sector of Manipur was 35 kms. (Source: Cabinet Memo No. 31 of 1999).
4.    Breakup of Kabaw Valley sector of Manipur: 1) Tulvai-Moichom Area – Between border pillar Nos. 62 to 68. II) Tamu-Moreh Area – Between border pillar Nos. 75 to 79. III) Choro Khunnou Area – Between border pillar Nos. 88 to 95. (Source : Cabinet Memo No. 31 of 1999)
5.    Now in view of present crisis at Haolenphai and Kwatha Khunnou, it is clear that controversies over boundary pillars have cropped up at other places too due to delay on the part of Government of India to resolve the issue.
6.    Letters on Indo-Myanmar Boundary on Manipur sector were corresponded from time to time, latest being Memorandum submitted in 2013 by the all political party delegation led by the then Chief Minister of Manipur, Shri Okram Ibobi Singh and Dy. Chief Minister Shri Gaikhangam to the then Prime Minister of India, Shri Manmohan Singh. A Memorandum was also submitted by the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) on 2nd July 2018 to the Hon’ble President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, Hon’ble PM of India Shri Narendra Modi and Hob’ble Home Minister of India Shri Rajnath Singh, reiterating the earlier Memorandum of all political party delegation and highlighting the present crisis at Kwatha Khunnou.
7.    In the memorandum submitted by all political parties, almost all the issues pertaining to boundary on the Indo-Myanmar sector was addressed including the present impasse at Kwatha Khunnou and Haolenphai.
8.    The issue at Kwatha Khunnou seems to be of two category, I) Shifting of original pillar No. 81 deep into Indian Territory and II) Fixation of subsidiary pillars between original pillar number 81 and 82 and at other places of Kwatha Khunnou area.
9.    As the villagers living on the border area are the custodians of our boundary, what they say cannot be ignored without proper consideration.
10.    The present boundary issue can be resolved only after conducting a re-survey and re-demarcation of the whole Manipur sector, on the basis of Agreement signed on 10th March 1967 between Government of India and Myanmar, the traditional boundary demarcation and field verification by involving all stake holders including the state Government and the people living on the border.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.