Home » Re-poll in six polling stations in Outer Manipur PC tomorrow

Re-poll in six polling stations in Outer Manipur PC tomorrow

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 1 minutes read
Re-poll in six polling stations in Outer Manipur PC tomorrow

IT News
Imphal, April 29:

In response to irregularities observed during the polling conducted on April 26, 2024, at six polling stations in the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, the Election Commission of India has declared the polls as void. Citing provisions under Sections 58(2) and 58A(2) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Commission has scheduled fresh elections to be held on April 30, 2024.
The affected polling stations include four in the 44-Ukhrul (ST) Assembly segment – Shangshak A, Ukhrul (A), Ukhrul (D-1), and Ukhrul (F) – along with Chingai in the 45-Chingai (ST) Assembly segment, and Oinam (AI) in the 47-Karong (ST) Assembly segment. Voting will take place from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM on the specified date.
Chief Electoral Officer Pradeep Kumar Jha has issued an appeal to all voters in these polling stations, urging them to participate actively in the upcoming polls. This development comes as part of the broader electoral process in Manipur, where voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections recently concluded in the state’s Outer Manipur constituency.
Earlier instances of re-polling were conducted in 11 polling stations of the Inner Manipur constituency on April 22, following reports of violence during the initial phase of polling on April 19. The subsequent round of polling in Manipur is slated for May 7, with the counting of votes and declaration of results scheduled for June 4.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.