Home » Pune police nab six with 18 pistols

Pune police nab six with 18 pistols

by Raju Vernekar
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT Correspondent
Pune, Sept 22:

In a major operation, the sleuths from the Hadapsar Police Station of Pune city(in Maharashtra), busted a gang, which used to bring in weapons from neighbouring Madhya Pradesh and nabbed six criminals and seized 18 country made revolvers and 27 live rounds from their possession on Sunday. 
The accused have been remanded to police custody till September 27 by the judicial magistrate. Newly appointed Pune City Police Commissioner Amitabh Gupta congratulated the team for their excellence and efforts. 
The accused have been identified as Arbaaz Rashid Khan (21), Kunal Namdev Shejwal alias Yash (19), Jayesh Raju Gaikwad (23) and Sharad Bansi Mallav (21), all residents of Shirur, Suraj Ramesh Chinchane alias Gulya (22) of Ganganagar, Fursungi and Vikas Bhagat Taur alias Maharaj (28) of Yerwada. 
Acting on the tip-off, given by an informer to police Naik Nitin Mundhe, that the accused were roaming near the Phursungi area during the night with pistols wrapped around their waists, a team led by Senior Police Inspector Ramesh Sathe, under the guidance of Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) Suhas Bawache, laid a trap and arrested the accused persons on Sunday. Eighteen pistols and 27 cartridges and a stolen motorbike, totally valued at Rs 5.68 lakh, was  seized from the accused, DCP Bawache said. 
Khan, residing at Shiruar was the mastermind of this clandestine deal. The accused are criminals on police record and have cases registered against them in the past. They used sell the weapons in Pune as well as nearby districts including Ahmednagar. The seizure is the cause of concern since the seized weapons are made exactly like the high-end pistols made by authorized arms and ammunition manufacturing companies. The supply of such weapons across the country could lead to mayhem and disturb law and order situation across the country”, DCP Bawache said. 
The operation was carried out under the guidance of Joint Commissioner of police (law and order) Ravindra Shisve, Additional CP Namdev Chavan, ACP Kalyanrao Vidhate. The investigation team included Police Inspector Humraj Kumbhar, API Sanjay Chavan, Sub-Inspector Saurabh Mane and policemen Yusuf Pathan, Rajesh Navale, Pratap Gaikwad, Saidoba Bhojrav, Vinod Shivle, Nitin Mundhe, Akbar Shaikh, Shashikant Nale, Shahid Shaikh, Prashant Tonpe, Govind Chivale, Amit Kambale, Pravin Uttekar and Narsale.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

error: Content is protected !!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.
slot gacor slot demo slot thailand