Home » NPF MLA Awangbou Newmai inducted as Minister in N.Biren Singh led Govt.

NPF MLA Awangbou Newmai inducted as Minister in N.Biren Singh led Govt.

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News

Imphal, May 29:

MLA of the Naga Peoples’ front (NFP) Awangbou Newmai has been inducted as Minister of the N. Biren Singh led government of Manipur today. He takes oath as Minister today evening.

With the induction of Awangbou Newmai in the state Cabinet, NPF now have 2 cabinet ministers in the BJP led Government of Manipur.  NFP MLA L. Dikho is already in the Ministry.

Awangbou Newmai has been inducted in the ministry after a ministerial berth remains vacant after the disqualification of MLA Shyamkumar who was the Minister of Forest and Environment and MAHUD in the N. Biren Singh Government.

Source said that BJP’s central leadership had given approval for induction of the new ministry late yesterday evening.

It may be mentioned that NPF has been demanding increase in the Ministers since the last 6/7 months in the aftermath of the demand by BJP MLAs for major reshuffle of the ministry. The party even field its candidate, Honreikhui Kashng,  for the lone Rajya Sabha seat. However for reason best known to the NPF and the BJP the candidate the NPF withdraw its candidate and support the BJP candidate Leishemba Sanajaoba who will be contesting with Congress candidate T. Mangibabu. Assam Finance Minister Himanta Bishwas Sharma who is also the convenor of BJP Election Management Committee also came to Manipur and made an understanding with the NPF.

With the disqualification of MLA Shyamkumar, 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly now has 58 members excluding the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly. If in case the fate of Shyamkumar falls to the 7 other MLAs who had joined the BJP then the total seat in the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly will be 51. Total number of MLAs required by N.Biren Singh government to continue is 26 which he had even without the support of the 4 (four) National Peoples’ Party (NPP) MLAs who are Ministers in the government as Congress now have 20 MLAs. It is likely that a major reshuffled may take place after the measures being taken up to contained the COVID-19 pandemic has been settled. If in case the NPP MLAs drop from the government due to misunderstanding the congress will have 24 MLAs that means BJP still will lead the number taking into account the BJP play well with the Independent MLA Ashab Uddin.

Moreover, it is just about 1 years and  8 months left for the N.Biren Singh government and it is likely that his government may not face that much problem as the BJP too needs to prepare for the next election. 

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.