Home » Moirangthem Nilamani gets MSFDS Lifetime Achievement Award

Moirangthem Nilamani gets MSFDS Lifetime Achievement Award

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 3 minutes read

The prestigious MSFDS Lifetime Achievement Award for lasting and outstanding contributions to the field of Manipuri cinema was conferred to the Nonagenarian filmmaker and writer, Moirangthem Nilamani as part of the 15th Manipur State Film Awards (MSFA) 2023.
Nominated by prominent personalities, and recommended by a special selection committee chaired by the Commissioner (Art & Culture), the lifetime award carries a cash reward of Rs. 1 lakh, a bronze Maibi Memento, a citation, and a shawl.
Born on 15th January 1933, Moirangthem Nilamani Singh of Sagolband Salam Leikai, was trained as a lawyer. While pursuing his law degree in Bombay, he fell in love with moving images and sound. His ‘love affair’ with expressive art was to stay with him for a lifetime.
His first feature film ‘Konjel’ (1981) which was well received was scripted, produced, and directed by him. ‘Paap’ (1990) and Khamba Thoibi (1997) were his subsequent celluloid productions under the Anjana Films banner.
Besides making films, Nilamani wrote eloquently on Manipuri Cinema through local newspapers. He served as the president of the All-Manipur Film Producers.
Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award are Aribam Syam Sharma, Lourembam Pishak Devi, O. Biramangol Singh, K. Tomba Singh, Yengkhom Roma Devi, Ksh. Rashi Devi, and Laimayum Banka Sharma.
Declaration of the winners of the 15th Manipur State Film Awards (MSFA) 2023 was made by Mongjam Joy Singh, IAS, Commissioner (Art & Culture), Government of Manipur, at the office of the Manipur State Film Development Society (MSFDS), accompanied by Chairmans of the Juries of all categories for the competition, namely, Feature Film, Non-Feature Film and Writings on Manipuri Cinema categories
Altogether, 43 (forty-three) awards were announced, each carrying respective cash awards, Bronze Mementos, and Citations. Out of these, 27 awards were given to the feature films category, 14 to non-feature which included music videos for the first time, and one award to writings on Manipur Cinema.
MSFDS would like to congratulate all the award winners of all categories of the 15th MSFA 2023, especially Moirangthem Nilamani for winning the MSFDS Lifetime Achievement.
Additionally, MSFDS acknowledges and regrets oversights detected in the results, and due corrections are issued:
Ojitbabu Ningthoujam’s ‘Eigi Nupi Tamnalai’ which swept the 15th MSFA 2023 with 7 awards in the feature film category, included the Best Special Effects Award. Earlier results mentioned special effect creator, Lairenlakpam Mohendro as the only winner. A review of the film’s credit line reveals Khumbongmayum Ishomani Singh as the other co-special effect creator. Hence, the Best Special Effects Award will be shared between them.
Another oversight in the earlier declared results was detected while announcing the Best Music Director for the Song for the Feature Film category. After due review, it was found that while the winner of the award was correctly announced as Nanao Sagolmang, the film for which he bagged the award should be ‘Ashengba Eral’ not ‘Apikpa Mahum’
Lastly, the award for Best Lyrics went to the music video ‘Poppy Leirang’. This video was directed by OC Meira and the lyric was penned by Keke Wahengbam.
The inconvenience caused by the oversight is deeply regretted.
The following were the panel of Jurys: The Jury for the Feature Films Category were Laimayum Surjakanta Sharma (Chairperson), Ningombam Jadumani Singh, Dr. P. Birchandra Singh, Dr. K. Sobita Devi and Saterjit Thiyam. The Jury for the Non-Feature Films Category were Ms. Meenakumari Angom (Chairperson), Sonia Nepram, and R.K. Johnson. The Jury for Writing on Manipuri Cinema & Film Critic were Dr. Thokchom Ibohanbi (Chairperson), K. Sarojkumar Sharma, and Omen Achom.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.