Log in

Voting ends; turn out percentage reaches over 69 % Fate of 11 candidates for Inner Manipur Parliamentary Poll sealed in EVMs

IT News

Imphal, April 19,

Voting for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency ended at 4 pm today amidst report of booth rigging and poll related violence at many places particularly at Heingang, Kiyamgei and Andro Assembly constituency.

As per report, the poll percentage reached over 69 much lesser than last Lok Sabha Election.

Polling was held across 1300 polling stations under 32 Assembly constituencies in Manipur’s four valley districts after people, mostly men started to vote at their respective polling stations from 7 am onwards.

Interestingly a total of 138 polling stations including all polling stations under Yaiskul (38) and Bishnupur (40) Assembly constituencies besides two polling stations each in every 30 polling stations are being manned by women polling personnel. One polling station in Imphal east district is also manned by persons with disabilities.

Manipur is represented by two parliamentary constituencies – Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur (ST reserved). The first phase for Outer Manipur was held on April 11.

This time a total of 11 candidates: Dr R K Ranjan of BJP, O Nabakishore of Congress, Dr M Nara of CPI, G Tonsana of Manipur Democratic People’s Front, S Nandeshore of Rashtriya Janhit Sangarsh Party, RK Anand of North East India Development Party, O Jugindro of Manipur People’s Party, RK Somorendro, M Tomtomsana, W Pobitro Singh, Md Iliyash Khan, all Independent are contesting for the coveted Inner Manipur seat.

The fate of these candidates will be decided by the 9,28,626 electors including 4,47,843 males, 4,80,751 females and 32 third genders besides 4523 persons with disabilities.

Rinku Khumukcham

Rinku Khumukcham, Editor of Imphal Times has more than 15+ years in the field of Journalism. A seasoned editor, was a former editor of ISTV News. He resides in Keishamthong Elangbam Leikai, with his wife and parents. Rinku can be contacted at [email protected] 

Follow him

Leave a comment

Please do not post Hate Speech, derogatory, racist, obscene, spam comments.