Home » Independent ADC members form Hill Peoples’ Alliance in CCpur ADC

Independent ADC members form Hill Peoples’ Alliance in CCpur ADC

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Elected Independent candidates in Churachandpur Autonomous District Council had merged together to form Hill Peoples’ Alliance to hold the office. A source  said that the newly form alliance will be led by Langkhanpau Guite who got elected from 12-Tiuivai DCC by getting a total vote of 3691 out of 3693 voters. His rival candidate managed to get only 2 votes. Since the declaration of the result of the ADC election on June 11 the Independent candidates who were elected in the district has been camping to gain majority. Of the 24 seats a total of 18 independent candidates got elected in the Churchandpur district ADC. Congress managed to win in 5 seats while BJP won in only one seat. The newly floated Hill People Alliance is likely to claim majority in the Churachandpur ADC.
Of the six DDCs, Churachandpur is the only one at which independent candidates got majority seats. Indian National Congress emerged as the single largest party in the recently held ADC election by winning in 46 seats of the 144 ADC seats. NFP followed the party with a narrow margin of 43 seats. While BJP which have no MLAs in the state Legislative Assembly but is ruling the Central Government won in 21 seats. A total of 34 Independent candidates got elected in the election.
In Ukhrul and Senapati ADCs, Naga Peoples’ Front (NFP) is forming the ADC, as the party got majority with 17 and 11 elected members respectively. Congress won in 4 seats while BJP won in one seat and the remaining one seat was won by an independent candidate in Ukhrul ADC. While in Senapati ADC Congress won in only 1 seat while BJP managed to win in 8 seats.
On the other hand, INC has stake claimed in the Chandel and Sardar Hill ADCs as the party emerges as the single largest political party. The INC won 11 seats while NPF and BJP managed to won in 2 and 4 seats respectively. The remaining 6 were won by Independent candidates.
In Sardar Hill ADC, with 17 members the INC has claimed to form the ADC.
Meanwhile, the newly elected member of Autonomous District Council (ADC) Chandel, Tongsin Willingson Anal who got elected from 12-District Headquarters DCC expressed gratitude to all those who voted him in the recently concluded ADC election.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.