Home » Ibobi silence on status of Congress party; CM Okram Ibobi, Okram Joy among others hoisted flags

Ibobi silence on status of Congress party; CM Okram Ibobi, Okram Joy among others hoisted flags

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 3 minutes read

Imphal, Feb 12: The battle is on now. Congress party strong man Chief Minister Okram Ibobi today hoisted the party flag at his residence at Thoubal Athokpam. Veteran politician Okram Joy, who is contesting the upcoming election at Langthabal Assembly constituency as BJP candidate also hoisted the party at his residence at Kakwa.
Chief Minister Okram Ibobi is contesting the election from Thoubal Assembly Constituency this time too. Three other candidates Irom Chanu Sharmila of PRJA, Leitangthem Basanta of BJP and Leishangthem Suresh of the All India Trinamool Congress Party are likely to be the main contenders of the Chief Minister.
The Chief Minister hoisted the flag at 8.45 am sharp. His wife O Landhoni, former MLA of Khangabok Assembly accompanied her husband during the flag hoisting ceremony. No other MLAs or Ministers and MPCC officer bearers were seen attending the flag hoisting ceremony.
Interestingly, Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh today did not give any comment to reporters who were asking him about the status of the congress party at this junction.
The decision of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting to urge the Prime Minister of India for announcement of UNC as an unlawful organization had garnered many support from the voters of the majority assembly constituencies. But the resignation of former senior congress Minister Phungzathang Tonsing from the party membership and his joining to NPP after being announced his name as congress candidate had somehow seen a major shift to the situation of the congress strategy.
Okram Joy Singh, the veteran politician, who is contesting as BJP candidate for the first time from Lanthabal Assembly Constituency also hoisted the party flag in a different way this time. Along with the BJP flag Okram Joy hoisted the 7 colour Meitei Flag and flag of Meitei Deity Pakhangba.
Answering to reports, Joy said that there is nothing wrong in announcing UNC as unlawful organization as their activities had hurt the sentiments of many of the people. On being enquired on whether the state BJP will support the demand of the CLP, Joy said that the central government authority will surely look into it and may announced unlawful if it thinks it deserves following that all formalities done in a proper way from the state government.   
Both the Okrams are known for their political credential. For Okram Joy, the heavy weight politician, this is the first time that he chooses a National Political Party BJP. In his entire political career he was an MPP until he left it some few years back. He had earlier kept silent on whether he will contest the election or not but after joining the BJP he had finally rolled out his election strategy once again. He was elected as from Langthabal Assembly Constituency for 5 times as MPP MLA.
Chief Minister Okram Ibobi, who had ruled the state for three consecutive terms, is the real strong man of the congress party. It is under his leadership that the fate of the congress party will be decided.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.