Home » House move privilege motion against IMPACT TV and Human Rights Activist Babloo Loitongbam

House move privilege motion against IMPACT TV and Human Rights Activist Babloo Loitongbam

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 16 minutes read

IT News

Imphal, July 24: Ongoing Assembly session of the 10th Manipur legislative Assembly today seriously discussed about the alleged defamatory statement against the members of the house by Human Rights Activist Babloo Loitongbam in a programme broadcast by private channel Impact TV. Both opposition members and the ruling joined hands in demanding appropriate action against the rights activist and private channel.

Moving the motion Trinamool Congress MLA Dr. I Ibohalbi stated that in a programme broadcast by IMPACT TV called Manung Hutna, Executive Director of Human Rights Alert Babloo Loitongbam had termed the MLAs as “Meethibong, Mitambal” which is a derogatory terms. Ibohalbi further said that why the privilege committee should not take action against the TV Channel IMPACT TV and Babloo Loitongbam for using the term and calling the 60 MLAs as contractors.

Babloo Loitongbam had reportedly blamed the 60 MLAs for its inability to bring up the issue for introduction of the Inner Line Permit system. He was also quoted as saying that students of the state have been doing the works of the MLAs.

Supporting the motion, MLA Ibomcha said that the MLA have been doing everything they can do by sending resolution copy urging for introduction of the Inner Line Permit System.

PHED Minister I Hemochandra said that the matter for demoing of the MLA should be seriously discussed and should be handed to the privilege committee to look into the matter.

MLA Brojen also supported the motion saying that defaming MLAs has become a means for self style social workers. This should be seriously taken by all.

MLA Ng Bijoy supporting the motion drew the attention of the house for termination of his post from Manipur University Human Rights department. Bijoy’s proposal was supported by all the 60 MLAs. MLA RK Anand and Karam Shyam also supported the motion.Later, the Speaker of the House passed on the motion to the Privilege committee of the House.


You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.