Home » Hiyanglam By Election:5 clears, MPTC candidate rejected in scrutiny

Hiyanglam By Election:5 clears, MPTC candidate rejected in scrutiny

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

At what could be termed as a blow to the MLA Kh. Joykishan led Trinamool Congress group, District Election Officer of Thoubal today rejected the candidate of the party which had filed nomination to contest the upcoming by election of the Hiyanglam Assembly Constituency.With the rejection of the candidature it is likely that the war going on between MLA Shyamkumar led group of All India Trinamool Congress, Manipur and the MLA Kh. Joykishan led group of Manipur Pradesh Trinamool Congress has been partially settled. MLA Th Shyamkumar had demanded disqualification of MLA Kh. Joykishan, MLA, Th Boshojit, MLA, Lukhoi and MLA K Sharat under the 10th Scheduled of the Peoples’ Representive Act and a case has been pending with the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly. Similar case for disqualification was also filed against MLA Th Shyamkumar claiming authority of the Trinamool Congress Party by MLA Joykishan led group. The case is also pending in tribunal of the Manipur Legislative Assembly.The by-election of Hiyanglam Assembly Constituency is being held after the demise of sitting MLA Maibam Kunjo Singh. After the rejection of MPTC candidate, 5 candidates will be in the fray for the lone seat. Earlier, people were made confused after two candidates had filed nomination from the same party among 6 candidates. Dr. Yumnam Radheshyam filed nomination as the candidate of MLA Th. Shyamkumar led AITC while Yumnam Thambou filed nomination as the candidate of the Kh. Joykishan led AITC group.The four other candidates who had filed nomination for contesting the Hiyanglam by poll scheduled to be held on October 17 were, Dr. Elangbam Dwijamani of Congress, Maibam Dhanabir of BJP, Th Laiba of MSCP and Mayengbam Amutombi of MPP.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.