Home » GoM resolved to pay compensation to 28 victims of extra judicial killing

GoM resolved to pay compensation to 28 victims of extra judicial killing

by williamgurumayum
1 comment 4 minutes read

Imphal, June 17: In what would be termed as a small respite for the prolonged battle for justice against the numerous cases of extrajudicial killings being carried out by the security forces in the state, the state government have finally sanctioned ‘ 1,54,000/- (rupees one crore fifty four lakh) for payment of compensation of ‘ 5,50,000/- (rupees five lakh fifty thousand) each to the next of kins of 28 (twenty eight) victims. The order is in compliance with the recommendations of the National Human rights Commission and in compliance of Writ Petition (Criminal) No. 129/2012 of Supreme Court order dated 22/4/2016. It may be mentioned that The Extra Judicial Execution Victim Families Association (EEVFAM) filed two writ petitions under Article 32 of the Constitution of India which state that during the  period  May,  1979 to  May,  2012,  1528  people  were  killed  in  Manipur  in  extra-judicial execution. The statement is mainly based on a memorandum prepared by  ‘Civil Society Coalition on Human Rights in Manipur and the UN’  and  submitted  to  Christof  Heyns,  Special  Rapporteur  on  extrajudicial,  summary or arbitrary executions, Mission to India, 19-30 March,  2012.
The Memorandum compiles the list of 1528 people allegedly killed unlawfully by the State Police or the security forces.  The writ petitioners later on filed “Compilation 1” and “Compilation 2”. In “Compilation 1”  details  are  given of ten (10) cases relating to the killings of eleven (11)  persons  (out  of the list of 1528); in  “Compilation  2”,  similarly  details  are  given  of thirteen (13) cases in which altogether seventeen (17) persons (out  of  the list of 1528) are alleged to have been killed in extra judicial  executions.
The Supreme Court on 24 Nov 2012 questioned the “orientation” of the Manipur government over extra-judicial killings in the state and reprimanded it for drawing a parallel with the states of Gujarat and Maharashtra, which are already under the court’s scanner over contentious encounters. Manipur, in its response to a PIL which alleged 1,528 extra-judicial killings in last 30 years in the state, had requested the court to consider this matter along with two other pending cases relating to encounter killings.
The 28 deceased for whom compensation will be given to the next of kin are: 1) Khumbongmayum Orshonjit Singh, S/o Imo of Konjeng Hajari Leikai. 2) Sorokhaibam Amarjit Singh, S/o Achou of Chairen Makha Leikai. 3) Akoijam Priyobarta @ Bochou S/o Rajen of Mongsangei Boroi Makhong. 4) Md Taslimuddin S/o Md Karimuddin of Lilong Chaobok Mairenkhun. 5) Salam Gurung @ Jingo, S/o Memtombi Devi of Sagolband Meino Leirak. 6) Pebam Ojit @ Inao, S/o (L) Pakchao of Kwakeithel Lamdong. 7) Kudus Ali @ Boicha, S/o Md. Hayat Ali of Urup Makha Leikai 8) Angom Brajamani @ Tomba Singh, S/o A. Ibochou Singh of Phayeng Makha Leikai 9) Md. Razak Khan, S/o Md Abdul Hakim of Lilong Leihaokhong 10) Chongtham Nanao @ Sanjoy, S/o Ch. Iboyai Singh of Sekmaijin Maning Leikai 11) Nameirakpam Govind Meetei, S/o Nameirakpam Basanta, Bashikhong Mamang Leikai 12) Nameirakpam Noba Singh, S/o Nameirakpam Basanta, Bashikhong Mamang Leikai 13) Khagembam Priyokumar Singh, S/O (L) Kh. Ibocha of Wangjing village 14) Sorokhaibam Nehru Singh S/o S. Ibohal Singh of Charangpat Mayai Leikai 15) Laishram Ranbir Singh S/o L. Ibobi Singh of Uchiwa Awang Leikai 16) Md Jamir Khan S/o Md. Fajur Rahaman of Keirao Makting Major Ingkhol 17) Limlenbert @ Berinco Hangsing S/o Khupminlein of New Lambulane 18) Tangtinsei Kipgen S/o Khupmiulein of KHengjang village, Seikul 19) Soram Rojit S/o S. Kamini of Kangpokpi Bazar 20) Chongtham Umakanta @ Manaoton Singh S/o Ch. Gunamani of Iroishemba Mamang Leikai 21) Thokchom Momocha Singh S/o Th. Gulapi Singh of Keishampat Konjeng Hajari Leikai 22) Mohd. Ishaque S/o Abdul Razak of Lilong Chaobok, Mairenkhun 23) Mohd. Mustakim S/o Abdul Hasan of Lilong Chaobok, Mairenkhun 24) Ng. Yangba Singh S/o Ng. B Singh of Thongju Pt-II 25) Chahotliangbao Abonmei @ Chahotbao S/o A. Paonambao of Tamei Sub-Division, Tamenglong 26) Thokchom Inao @ Herojit S/o Th. Nimai Singh of Chairel Awang Leikai 27) Chungkham Sanjit Singh S/o Ch. Khelen Meetei of Khurai Kongpal Sajor Leikai 28) Thokchom Ranjit Singh S/o Th. Chinglen Singh of Itham Nungoi Mayai Leikai.

You may also like

1 comment

willia right June 17, 2016 - 2:40 pm

Manipur has a real Marshal law organizing by Manipur Police back from India govt. encouraging the full of state terrorism in Manipur. Targeting to be victimizing all the section of Manipur people with the using of weapon of raping woman including sodomizing teenage boys. India backing Manipur Police make many wonderful drama of extra judicial killing without any sorry for his/her brother & sister.


Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.