Home » ECI announces poll schedule for Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura

ECI announces poll schedule for Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 1 minutes read

Imphal, Jan 18: Election Commission of India has announced poll scheduled for the three states – Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura today.
Addressing a press conference at New Delhi Office, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti announced the poll date for Nagaland and Meghalaya on February 27. Filing of nomination is February 7 and the last date withdrawal of the nomination is February 8. Scrutiny for candidates of both these states will  be held on February 8.
 Polling for Tripura will be conducted on February 18, the CEC announced. He further added that counting for all the three will be conducted on March 3, 2018 and the result will be declared on the same day.
Total strength of the three Assemblies is 60 members each.
The term for Nagaland Legislative Assembly ends on March 13. Meghalaya Assembly terms too end on March 6, while the term for Tripura Legislative Assembly ends on March14.
For the first, VVPATs and EVMs will be used for voting in these three states, AK Joti said.
With the announcement of the polling scheduled the model code of conduct in the three states come into force from today. All the three states have 60 legislators.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.