Home » Dr. S. Ibocha and Oinam Sunil take oath as state Information Commissioners at Raj Bhavan

Dr. S. Ibocha and Oinam Sunil take oath as state Information Commissioners at Raj Bhavan

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, Oct 22,

Dr. Soibam  Ibocha Singh, IPS (Rtd)  and  Oinam Sunil Singh were today sworn in as State Information Commissioners of Manipur  at Raj Bhavan, Imphal . Governor Dr. Najma Heptulla administered oath of office to the two State Information Commissioners.
Speaking to media persons after the swearing-in-ceremony, Dr. Soibam Ibocha Singh said that as the Information Commissioner of the State, he will work whole heartedly and provide information sought by the people regarding their grievances. He also said he will try to forge better relationship with the all the community members. Notably, Dr S Ibocha Singh, IPS retired from service as IGP (Administration).
Oinam Sunil praising the State Government stated that it is a proud moment for the     Journalist fraternity not only in Manipur but the entire North East for appointing a journalist as the State Information Commissioner. With his appointment the State has achieved the distinction of appointing a Journalist as State Information Commissioner for the first time, he added.
He further added that he is hopeful that with the appointment, in due course of time every govt. in other North East States will also appoint qualified Journalist as State Information Commissioner. The Commission consists of three members including Chief Information Commissioner and two State Information Commissioners. Shri Oinam Sunil began his career in Journalism in 1988-89 and at the time of his appointment to the coveted post, he was working as the Senior Assistant Editor (North East) with national newspaper- The Times of India.
Mentioned may be made that Th. Ibobi Singh is the Chief Information Commissioner of the Manipur Information Commission.
The swearing-in-ceremony was attended by Chief Minister Shri N. Biren Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Shri Yumnam Joykumar Singh, CAF & PD Minister Shri Karam Shyam, Speaker Shri Y. Khemchand, MLA Shri N. Indrajit and others.  Top ranking Civil and Police officials, family members of the newly sworn-in State Information Commissioners also attended among others.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.