Home » Congress legislatures, organization leaders and workers protest against the 3 Farm Bill

Congress legislatures, organization leaders and workers protest against the 3 Farm Bill

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

Rally led by CLP leader Okram Ibobi and MPCC President Govindas Konthoujam stopped by the police; Youth wing and Mahila committee members met Governor

IT News
Imphal, Jan 15:

Large number of Congress workers and Congress Legislatures led by MPCC President Govindas Konthoujam and CLP leader Okram Ibobi , who is also the leader of the Opposition of the Manipur legislative Assembly who were proceeding towards Raj Bhavan after staging sit-in-protest at Congress Bhavan , were stopped by a strong team of Manipur police in front of the treasury office, Imphal and force to return back at around 1.30 pm today.

A confrontation took place between the congress workers and the police team took place as the Congress party workers tried to storm at Raj Bhavan. (MPCC president was seen caught in the middle of the large number of police in picture)

However, another team of the Congress party led by Smt. Sarma , President of the Manipur Pradesh Mahila Congress Committee, Mahananda, president of the Youth Congress Manipur and  Hareshwar Goshwami, General Secretary MPCC proceeded from other side and reached the Raj Bhavan gate where they were halt by the Raj Bhavan Security. After a brief altercation, the three leaders were however allowed to enter the Raj Bhavan to meet the Governor of Manipur.

The Congress legislatures and its workers are staging protest against the 3 farm Bills passed by the NDA government recently. The Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) today organised a protest demonstration at its office complex at BT road here in Imphal under the banner ‘Kishan Adhikar Diwas’. Almost all MLAs, Ex-MLAs, PCC Office bearers and members along with the frontal bodies of the political party joined the protest demonstration which began at around 12.30 pm today.

Besides the CLP leader Okram Ibobi Singh, the MPCC President Govindas Konthoujam, CWC Member Gaikhangam, Former Speaker Th. Lokeshwar and other leaders of the MPCC were seen attending the protest demonstration.

After staging sit-in-protest for a while, the congress team proceeded towards Raj Bhavan to gheroa the Governor’s office demanding repealing of the three farm laws which is burning the country.

Slogans denouncing the NDA were shouted against the passing of the Acts when police halt them in front of the treasury office which is just around 200 meters from the Raj Bhavan.

CLP leader Ibobi term the passing of the act as harassment to the framers and said that such acts will only bring miseries to the farmers of the country.  

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.